The making of ‘Stof genoeg’

Hallo allemaal! Hi all! (please scroll down for the English translation of this post)

Hierbij het eerste bericht op mijn blog. Kijk even naar het plaatje, de ‘header image’. Het stelt de titel van mijn blog voor, in letters van allemaal verschillende stoffen. Ik heb het gemaakt in EQ7. Een blog heeft namelijk plaatjes nodig, en ik ben handiger met mijn quilt design software dan met de fotocamera. (Dat belooft wat :-) ).

Voor degenen die willen weten hoe ik het heb gedaan:

  • Ik heb in EQ7 een nieuw project geopend en opgeslagen onder de naam ‘stof genoeg’.
  • In de ‘fabric libraries’ heb ik gezocht naar allemaal leuke stofjes in voornamelijk roze en oranje, die ik leuk vond voor de letters en een eventuele rand, en toegevoegd aan het schetsboek.

  • Ik heb een nieuwe quilt aangemaakt, met een horizontale layout, 1 blok van 2 inch hoog en 11 inch breed. Ik schatte dat de hoogte-breedte verhouding ongeveer overeen zou komen met de hoogte-breedte verhouding van de ruimte in pixels voor de header image. En hoe kleiner je binnen die verhoudingen de quilt maakt, hoe groter de prints van de gekozen stoffen worden weergegeven.
  • Ik heb een relatief brede rand gekozen (1 inch), in de stijl ‘mitered border’. Ik wilde voldoende ruimte hebben om het beeld volledig te kunnen vullen en niets te verliezen van de tekst als ik het beeld zou moeten bijsnijden.
  • Op laag 1 heb ik een effen blok gezet en wit ingekleurd (geen stof). 
  • Op laag 2 heb ik met de Set Applique Text Tool* een tekstblok gemaakt en daarin getypt ‘stof genoeg’.  Het was even experimenteren met verschillende lettertypes en lettergroottes tot ik iets vond wat me aanstond en mooi paste.
 

Afgevallen versie

  • *(De Set Applique Tekst tool staat niet in de standaard set, mogelijk moet je hem even toevoegen. Dit doe je door te klikken op het kleine zwarte driehoekje onderaan de toolbar. Klik op Add / Remove buttons en klik op de tools van je keuze. Voor dit project heb ik ook de Fussy Cut tool gebruikt.) 
  • Ik heb het tekstblok geselecteerd met de ‘adjust’ tool en met de knoppen ‘center horizontally’ en ‘center vertically’ (rechtsboven op het graph pad) precies in het midden van de quilt gezet. Omdat de tekst daardoor iets over de onderste rand uitstak, heb ik hem weer wat naar boven verplaatst.
  • Met de hele tekst in één tekstblok staat de tekst mooi uitgelijnd en met de juiste hoeveelheid wit tussen de afzonderlijke letters, en je kunt het geheel uitprinten als één patroon. Het nadeel is dat je de tekst maar met één stof kunt inkleuren. Ik heb mijn letters grijs gekleurd (geen stof)
  • Als je de tekst echt gaat appliqueren knip je gewoon elke letter van een andere stof als je dat wilt en kun je het ontwerp in een stof laten. Maar nu wilde ik een plaatje met verschillend gekleurde letters, en daarom moest ik een extra stap doen.
  • Ik heb met het gekozen lettertype en fontgrootte op laag 2 voor elke letter afzonderlijk een eigen tekstblok gemaakt.
  • Die letters heb ik over het eerste tekstblok geschoven, ietsje versprongen. Mogelijk moet je hiervoor de ‘snap settings’ voor het graph pad wijzigen, zodat je de blokken met de kleinst mogelijke stapjes (bij mij 1/32 inch) kunt verschuiven. Als je dat niet doet heb je kans dat de blokken steeds terugspringen naar de verkeerde plaats op de quilt. (Verander de instellingen via het tabblad Quilt > Quilt Worktable Options > Tool options > Snap settings > Nudge Settings).
  • Met de grijze letters als ondergrond heb je een schaduweffect. Als je dat niet wilt kun je de bovenste letters precies over de onderste schuiven, of de onderste letters wit kleuren, net als de achtergrond.
 

Stof genoeg zonder schaduweffect

  • Toen ik de quilt helemaal naar mijn zin had ingekleurd en in het schetsboek opgeslagen, heb ik de afbeelding opgeslagen als een .jpeg. (File > Export Image > Opslaan als .JPEG. Kies de map en bestandsnaam en klik op Opslaan. Er verschijnt een formulier ‘Export image file of quilt’. Ik heb resolution gezet op 600 dpi, en vinkjes weggehaald bij ‘outline patches’ en ‘outline blocks’.)
  • De afbeelding kon ik uploaden als header image. Ik moest iets van de onderste en de bovenste rand afsnijden.
  • Ik heb nu een header image dat ik makkelijk kan aanpassen aan feestdagen en seizoenen. Ik hoef alleen maar andere stofjes uit mijn fabric libraries te kiezen (eventueel eerst zelf scannen en importeren) en de letters opnieuw in te kleuren. Handig he?

XXX Anneke

ENGLISH:

Here is the first post on my blog. Take a look at the header image. It pictures the name of my blog, in letters each made up in a different fabric. I made it in EQ7. A blog needs pictures, and I get along better with my quilt designing software than with a photo camera. (So be warned :-))

For those of you who would like to know how I did this:

  • I opened a new project in EQ7 and saved under the name ‘stof genoeg’.
  • In the fabric libraries I selected several fun fabrics, mostly in pink and orange, that I fancied for the letters and possibly a border, and I saved them in the sketchbook.
  • I made a new quilt, with a horizontal layout, 1 block of 2” high and 11” wide. I estimated that this height – width ratio would sort of match the height – width ratio in pixels of the space for the header image. And the smaller the size of your quilt, the bigger the prints of the selected fabrics will show.
  • I chose a relatively wide border (1”), mitered. I wanted to have ample space to fill the header completely, and not loose anything of the text in case I would have to crop the image partially.
  • On layer 1 I set a blank block and colored it white (not with fabric).
  • On layer 2 I set a text block with the Set Applique Text Tool* and typed ‘stof genoeg’in it. It took a little bit of experimenting with different fonts and sizes until I found something fitting that I liked. (Above there is a picture of a version I chose not to use).
  •  *(The Set Applique Text Tool is not in the default set, you may have to add it. You do this by clicking on the small black triangle at the bottom of the tool bar. Click Add / Remove buttons and click on the tools of your choice. For this project I also used the Fussy Cut Tool.)
  • I selected the text block with the Adjust Tool, and I centered it by clicking the buttons ‘center horizontally’ and ‘center vertically’ (top right, on the graph pad). This caused  the text to touch the lower border, so I moved it up a little.
  • With the entire title in a single text block the text spaces and lines up neatly, and you can print it as one complete pattern. The downside is that all of your letters show in the same fabric. I colored my letters grey (no fabric).
  • If you were to appliqué your letters, you could just cut each letter of a different fabric and leave the design in one fabric. But I wanted a picture with all the letters colored differently, so I had to add a step.
  • With the chosen font and size selected, I made new separate text blocks for each letter.
  • I placed those letters over the first textblock, slightly off. You may have to change the snap settings of your quilt, so that you can move the blocks with the smallest increments possible (1/32“). If you don’t do that, your blocks may snap back to the wrong places in the quilt. (For changing the settings click the tab Quilt  > Quilt Worktable Options > Tool options > Snap settings > Nudge Settings).
  • The grey letters in the background provide a shadow effect. If you do not like that, you can place the upper letters exactly over the lower letters, or you can color the lower letters white, just like the background. (In the Dutch version ↑ there is a picture showing the version without the shadow effect).
  • When I was completely satisfied with the colors in my quilt, and saved it in the sketchbook, I saved the image as a .jpeg. (File > Export Image > Save as .JPEG. Select the folder and file name and click Save. A form appears: Export image file of quilt. Ik set the resolution to 600 dpi, and unchecked ‘outline patches’ and ‘outline blocks’.)
  • I could then upload the image as my header image. It took a little cropping of the upper and lower border.
  • I now have a header image that I can easily adjust to reflect holidays and seasons. All it takes is picking other fabrics from my fabric libraries (I could scan and import my own first) and color the letters differently. Pretty smart, huh? 

XXX Anneke

2 comments on “The making of ‘Stof genoeg’

  1. Anneke,
    Hi,I just wanted to let you know how much I liked your blog.It is so nicely done. Your work is awsome.
    I have a few ?’s regarding the clamshells patterns. I have the clamshell program from Inklingo and have been trying to figure out a pattern to use and I really like the Clamshell pattern under the Peppermint Candy pattern,I think. I was wondering where I can get that pattern,if it is free or for sale. I would be just cazy enough to do it. I too like hand piecing and if it wasn’t for Inklingo I wouldn’t know how to do it.

    Thanks again,
    Peggy Snyder
    Fellow Inklinger

    • Peggy,

      Thank you for your comment! I designed the Peppermint Swirl clamshell, and there is no pattern (yet). But I think if you print out the picture, and count all the patches in each color, and write it down on Monkey’s Cheat Sheet (in your collection or else on http://www.inklingo.com, under the support tab) you could then figure out the necessary yardage.

      Linda has very clear instructions to do that in every collection. Check the bookmarks for yardage or suggested layouts. It will tell you how many shapes you can print on a certain size of fabric sheet, so you can calculate how many sheets to print in each fabric.

      Excellent piecing instructions are also in each collection (but you probably already know this!). If you have EQ, I could also send you a project file, if you think it would help.

      If you have any more questions, please ask. You can e-mail me via stofgenoeg@hotmail.com. I would love to see one of my designs actually executed!

      Anneke https://stofgenoeg.wordpress.com/

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

