Waarom ik mijn quilts met de hand naai

sterretjes en 1,5 inch zeshoeken / stars and 1,5" hexagons

Why I hand piece

(please scroll down for the English translation of this post) 

Ik naai mijn quilttops het liefst met de hand. Ik heb een geweldige naaimachine, maar ik vind naaien met de hand echt ontspannend. En daarnaast is het veel makkelijker. Je pakt het zo op en legt het zo weer weg.  

Het wordt (bij mij in elk geval) netter omdat je je naald altijd precies in de kruispuntjes kunt steken. Je hebt veel meer keus in patronen, omdat een Y-vormige naad, veel puntjes bij elkaar of een ronde naad met de hand vrijwel net zo gemakkelijk gaat als een rechte lijn.  

De volgorde waarin je een blok naait is ook niet zo belangrijk, en daarom hoef je je project niet helemaal te plannen. Ik kan gewoon beginnen als ik zin heb. Want stof heb ik genoeg ;-)  

Ik hoef niet eerst mijn naaimachine tevoorschijn te halen, tafel vrijmaken, naaimachine schoonmaken, olieën, spoeltje controleren, draadspanning controleren op een proeflapje, etc.  

Ik hoef bijna nooit iets uit te halen, wat me met machinaal naaien toch regelmatig overkomt.  

En je kunt overal naaien waar je je handen vrij hebt. Het maakt geen herrie en je hebt geen stopcontact nodig. Dus als DHDH voetbal kijkt kan ik naast hem op de bank werken aan mijn quilt-in-wording. Gezellig. Je kunt eraan werken op visite, in de trein, in de auto (wel iemand anders laten rijden!). Als je maar vijf minuutjes hebt kun je al snel weer een naadje doen. En dan schiet het misschien wel sneller op dan met de naaimachine.  

Dus ik heb altijd een blikje bij de hand met een meeneemproject. Het is een meerjarenplan voor tussendoor met veel kleine zespuntige sterretjes.  

Inklingo handnaai setje / Inklingo hand piecing kit

Hier zie je mijn blikje. Inhoud:  

  • Schaartje
  • een draadafsnijder (voor in het vliegtuig)
  • een draad-in-de-naald-steker
  • naaimachinespoeltje met dun katoenen garen
  • een flexibele koelkastmagneet met daarop een paar spelden en naalden
  • setjes lapjes voor sterrenpuntjes, bijeengehouden door een speld
  • Een aantal genaaide sterrenpuntjes

Ik heb in totaal al ruim 90 sterretjes af, en elk sterretje bestaat uit 24 lapjes met een jaren ‘30 printje. Plan is om ze allemaal verschillend te maken. Dat kan makkelijk en zonder dat je een zolder vol restjes hebt. Ik heb tot nu toe vooral charm packs gebruikt. Dat zijn pakketjes met allemaal lapjes van 5 bij 5 inch (ca. 11 bij 11 cm.), meestal alle printjes uit één collectie.  

Dus ik heb wat charm packs gekocht van jaren ’30 collecties, en dan kom je een heel eind.  

24 sterpuntjes 0,75 inch op een charm / 24 diamonds 0,75"on a charm

Uit één zo’n lapje (charm) kan ik namelijk precies 24 lapjes voor sterrenpuntjes halen. Dat is perfect, want elke ster bestaat uit twee ringen van zes puntjes en een ring van twaalf puntjes. Met drie prints in elk sterretje kan ik met drie charms precies drie sterren maken, door de kleuren door de sterren te mixen.  

Dus ik hoef geen ingewikkelde stofberekeningen te doen, ik kan superefficiënt inkopen en houd geen restjes over!  

Maar, vraag je je misschien af: Ben je niet absurd veel tijd kwijt met het aftekenen van al die idioot kleine sterrenpuntjes? Dat moet toch stuk voor stuk met de hand, met een malletje ofzo?  

 NEE!! Dat hoeft dus gelukkig niet. Anders was ik er echt nooit aan begonnen. (Zo gek ben ik nou ook weer niet ;-)).  

Mijn eerste quilt heb ik nog wel zo voorbereid. Malletjes tekenen, stof op schuurpapier, allerlei potloden geprobeerd. Lijntjes te dik of te vaag. Malletje verschuift en slijt. Etc.  

Met een gewoon vulpotlood ging het nog het beste, maar door daarmee over de stof te trekken vervorm je de stof, en er sprongen voortdurend afbrekende potloodpuntjes in het rond. En een tijd dat het kostte. Ik was uren ingespannen bezig met het voorbereiden van een paar blokken die ik zo in elkaar genaaid had. En dan moest ik weer van voren af aan beginnen. AAARGH! Dat is geen hobby voor een werkende vrouw.  

Toen ontdekte ik gelukkig Inklingo. Ik vond het briljant. Eigenlijk zo’n simpel idee, maar wat een totaal andere manier van werken. In een paar uur heb je letterlijk honderden lapjes precies op maat gesneden, met perfecte lijntjes en naadtoeslagen! En dan wordt zo’n project met piepkleine sterretjes ineens heel aantrekkelijk. En heb je voor het weet een hele berg sterretjes af!  

al ca. 90 sterretjes af / ca. 90 stars finished already

Voor meer informatie over Inklingo, zie mijn speciale Inklingo-pagina’s: Inklingo voor beginners en Inklingo links.  

INFO over deze INKLINGO COLLECTIE  

De gebruikte patronen van de 60-gradenruit met zijkanten van 0,75 inch (ca. 19 mm.) en de zeshoek met zijkanten van 1,5 inch (ca. 3,8 cm.) staan op de CD met Inklingo collectie nr. 3. Dit is een collectie met zeshoeken en bijpassende vormen in diverse maten. Bij de CD zit een prachtig boek met patronen. Deze collectie is niet beschikbaar als download. Voor meer informatie en bestellingen, klik hier   

XXX Anneke  

ENGLISH  

inklingo hand piecing

 I prefer to hand piece my quilts. I have a great sewing machine, but I find hand piecing so very relaxing. Besides, it is much easier. You can pick it up anytime, and put it away just as easily. 

And it is much more neat and accurate (with me anyway), because you can always put your needle in exactly the right point. You have much more choice in patterns, because Y-seams, many points coming together or curved seams are almost as easily hand pieced as straight seams.  

The sequence in which you sew a block is not so important, so you don’t have to plan your project all in advance. I can just start whenever I feel like something new. I have plenty of fabric, anyway ;-)  

I don’t need to fetch my sewing machine, clear a table, clean the sewing machine, oil it, check the bobbin, check the tension on a test patch, etc.  

I hardly ever have to unsew anything, which I have to do frequently when I machine piece.  

And you can piece anywhere you have both hands free. It doesn’t make a noise and you don’t need electricity. So when DHDH is watching sports on tv I can sit beside him working on my quilt-to-be. Cosy. You can work on it when visiting someone, in a train, in the car (if you let somebody else drive!). If you have only five minutes to spare you can often do a seam already. And this way your project may progress quicker than if you do it by machine.  

So I always carry a little tin with a take along project. It is a many-year in-between plan with lots of small six pointed stars.  

hand piecing kit

Here you can see a picture of my tin. It contains:  

  • Small scissors
  • Thread cutter (for plane rides)
  • Needle threader
  • Bobbin with thin cotton thread
  • Flexible fridge magnet covered with pins and needles
  • Sets of patches for star points, pinned together
  • Some pieced star points

I have finished over 90 stars already. Each star is made of 24 patches with a 30’s reproduction print. I intend to make each star different. That should be easy and without having an attic full of scraps. I mainly used charm packs. I bought a couple of charm packs from 30’s reproduction collections, and that gets you far. You can get exactly 24 diamonds out of one charm. That is perfect, because each star consists of two rings of six diamonds and one ring of twelve diamonds. With three prints in each star I can make exactly three stars with three charms, mixing the prints through the stars.  

That means I do not have to do any complicated fabric calculations, I can buy very efficiently and I don’t have waste!  

But, you may ask: Aren’t you spending an absurd amount of time measuring and marking all those ridiculously tiny diamonds? Surely you have to do them piece by piece, manually with a template or something?  

NO!! Luckily I don’t have to do it that way. Or else I would never started this. (I am not that crazy ;-))  

I did prepare my first quilt like that. Making templates, laying sand paper underneath the fabric, trying all sorts of markers. Lines too thick or too faint. Template shifting and loosing its clean edges. Etc.  

It worked best with an ordinary mechanical pencil, but by pulling it over the fabric you distort the fabric, and there were constantly pieces of lead flying around. And how much time it took. I spent hours of very concentrated work preparing a couple of blocks that would be sewn up in no time. And then I had to start all over again. AARGH! That is no hobby for a working girl.  

But then I discovered Inklingo, thankfully. I thought it was brilliant. A very simple idea, really, but what a different way of working. In a couple of hours you have literally hundreds of patches cut exactly to size, with perfect lines and seam allowances! And then suddenly a project with small stars is very appealing. And before you know it you have a big pile of finished stars!  

For all the information you could possibly want on Inklingo, check www.inklingo.com  

INFO on this INKLINGO COLLECTION  

The shapes used in my stars project are the 0.75″ 60 degree diamond, and hexagons with 1.5″ sides. These shapes are on Inklingo shape collection #3, which is not a download. It is a beautiful book with patterns and a CD with hexagons in several sizes and related shapes. For more information on this collection, or for ordering, go straight to this collection, and click here.  

XXX Anneke  

a big pile of stars / een berg sterretjes

5 comments on “Waarom ik mijn quilts met de hand naai

  1. Hello Anneke – congratulations on your great blog. I like your selfportrait. Your really get me motivated in the handpiecing issue. I have already known inklingo before and printed out some lessons but I have not took the plunge so far. Now I am going to give it a try. Thanks for your explanations und pictures as well.
    Brigitte

  2. Dear Anneke, Congratulations on your wonderful new blog! Thank you very much for writing about one of my favorite things in your very first message! Linda

  3. Dear ladies,
    Thanks for your comments. Sorry I had them not show up immediately. I have changed the settings now!

    @Linda: I think my next post will be about using Inklingo with any pattern, to make it clear how versatile the shape collections are. That may be of interest to your customers too!

    Hugs, Anneke

  4. Anneke, what a wonderful job! I work in a small shop in Marion, OH and we’re finding more and more people saying they like the idea of handpiecing. I tell them about Inklingo, but I think I’m going to send them here! The pictures make me want to order collection 3 after my next paycheck!
    linda in plain city

  5. Thank you for sharing your blog with us on the Inklingo email group, Anneke! I love your blog banner. Very creative use of EQ. :o) Impressive pile of stars too. Can’t wait to see this coming together.

    ~Erin

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

