Another published design

Mijn quiltontwerp in een boek - My quilt design in a book

Please click here to go straight to the English translation

Zie hier, dames en heren, hoe mijn carrière als quiltontwerpster is begonnen in 1992. Ik was 22 en ontwierp op verzoek van mijn moeder een kinderquilt om mee te doen aan een actie voor SOS Kinderdorpen. De leukste inzendingen zouden geplaatst worden in een boek. Mijn moeder wilde graag huisjes, maar dacht dat ze die zelf niet kon tekenen. Ik was nog helemaal geen quilter. Achteraf verbaast het me dat ik iets getekend heb dat je echt kunt naaien! Maar mijn moeder heeft de quilt genaaid en ingezonden.  Ze vond hem zelf zo mooi dat ze hem niet heeft afgestaan voor het goede doel. En de huisjesquilt werd nog geplaatst ook! De tekening van het blok heb ik niet zelf aangeleverd, en hij klopt ook niet helemaal. Het boek (Kinderquilts van Marieke Dijkers, uitgeverij Cantecleer) is uiteraard niet meer leverbaar. Vandaar dat ik hier een EQ7 projectfile ter beschikking stel om te downloaden. Het bevat de blokken en een aantal quiltontwerpen. Veel plezier ermee! XXX Anneke

ENGLISH

 

 

 
Behold, ladies and gentlemen, how my career as a quilt designer started in 1992. I was 22 and designed a children’s quilt requested by my mother, to enter in an event for a children’s charity. The nicest entries would be published in a book. My mother wanted houses, but thought she was unable to draw them herself. I was not a quilter at all then. At hindsight, I am surprised I drew something that you can actually sew! But my mother made the quilt and entered it. She liked it so much she decided not to donate it for the good cause. And the houses quilt made the book! I did not provide the drawing that appeared in the book, and it is not entirely correct. The book (Kinderquilts by Marieke Dijkers, published by Cantecleer in The Netherlands) is of course unavailable for years already.  That is why I provide an EQ7 project file for downloading here, with the block and several quilts based upon it. Have fun with it!

XXX Anneke

 

3 comments on “Another published design

  1. ANNEKE
    I love your house block and quilt layouts. I don’t have EQ but I will try hard to follow your diagram to make a similar block. Thank you so much. I really enjoy your blog and I am about to really use Inklingo.

  2. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

