Great hats on show in Antwerp

Klik hier om direct naar Nederlands te gaan

Today DHDH took a day off to go shopping during the Sale in Antwerp. Yes, that is his idea of fun :-). I do not like shopping outdoors very much, and certainly not during sale. But I went along with him, because there was an exhibition in the Fashion Museum (MoMu) that I wanted to see, Stephen Jones & The Accent of Fashion. Stephen Jones has been making fabulous hats for over 30 years, and the exhibition has about 120 on show.

I had never been to the MoMu before, and I did not like it very much (Professional deformation: I studied Museology and must admit that I am very critical about exhibitions and museums), but the hats were to die for! I found this culmination of creativity, craftmanship and taste very inspiring. I would just love to be able to wear one of this milliner’s miniature hats some day, at some occasion. (I’d probably have to join a circus to make it look appropriate on me ;-)).

Unfortunately I did not bring my camera, so I can’t show you a picture here. If you are curious what I am talking about, you will have to go look at the hats yourself, either in real life or online.

The exhibition is still on until 13 February 2011. If you are not able to visit Antwerp, you can look at the creations of Stephen Jones on his website, and also in the online collection catalog of the MoMu, which uses a confusing mixture of Flamish and English.

(On the ‘Welkom’ page, click ‘Zoeken’ [Search] on the bottom of the page. Then you get a page with a search form. If you type in ‘Stephen Jones’ in the third horizontal field, and click the button ‘Search’ you will have access to 10 pages with 10 hats [hoed] each.)

 XXX Anneke

Nederlands

Vandaag had De Heer Des Huizes een dagje vrij genomen om te gaan winkelen tijdens de uitverkoop in Antwerpen. Ja, dat vindt ‘ie leuk :-). Ik houd helemaal niet zo van winkelen, zeker niet als ik er de deur voor uit moet, en al helemáál niet tijdens de uitverkoop. Maar ik ben meegegaan, omdat er een tentoonstelling was in het Mode Museum (MoMu) die ik wilde zien, Stephen Jones &  Het Accent op Mode. Stephen Jones maakt al meer dan 30 jaar fantastische hoeden, en de tentoonstelling laat er ca. 120 zien.

Ik was nog nooit in het MoMu geweest, en ik vond het op zich niet geweldig (Beroepsdeformatie: ik heb Museologie gestudeerd en moet toegeven dat ik ook wel erg kritisch ben op tentoonstellingen en musea), maar de hoeden waren om te zoenen! Ik vond deze samenkomst van creativiteit, vakmanschap en smaak erg inspirerend. Ik zou dolgraag bij gelegenheid eens een miniatuurhoedje van deze hoedenmaker willen (kunnen) dragen. (Al moet ik waarschijnlijk bij het circus gaan om het toepasselijk te laten lijken ;-)).

Helaas hadden we geen camera meegebracht, dus ook geen foto’s op mijn blog. DHDH vond dat ook wel jammer, want toen we na afloop in een café zaten uit te puffen, schoof de lieftallige Kim Holland aan een tafeltje dichtbij, vol in zijn blikveld. Hij had best met haar op de foto gewild…We zijn dus met lege handen thuisgekomen, maar we hadden allebei toch een heel geslaagde dag :-).

De tentoonstelling is nog open tot 13 februari 2011. Als je gelegenheid hebt kan ik je dit echt aanraden! Een alternatief is het bekijken van Stephen Jones’ creaties op zijn website, en ook in de online collectiecatalogus van het MoMu, dat een verwarrende mix van Vlaams en Engels gebruikt. Maar als je een beetje leest en doorklikt kom je er vast wel uit.

XXX Anneke

 

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

