My actual quilts

Klik hier om direct naar Nederlands te gaan

Linda Franz released yet another new Inklingo collection! This time squares and rectangles, perfect for making Log Cabin blocks with 1 inch logs. Now this brought back some memories. A log cabin block was the very first patchwork block I ever made, and I think it was my first experience on the sewing machine. I can’t remember how old I was (8? 9? older?), but it was at the time my Mum was taking her first quilt class. She made log cabins using leftover fabrics from clothes she made herself, using old sheets for the foundations. She taught me how to make the blocks as well, and I made a log cabin block and a courthouse steps block, and she made a beautiful fabric bag for me with the blocks on outside pockets, on the front and back. I used that bag to shreds, so I don’t have it anymore. I have very little proof of me being a quilter :-)

Luckily, this week my sister finally sent me pictures of the two baby quilts I have made for her daughters, who are not really babies anymore. I never took decent pictures myself, so I asked her to do it for me. I think she did not really understand the question. When she sent me pictures of the first quilt, there was a tiny person blocking the view to my baby! And this tiny person was naked and not toilet-trained! Can you believe it…who would put something like that onto a hand made quilt? ;-) My sister is obviously not a quilter.

Now that I have a blog, I finally had a decent excuse to ask her for pictures of my quilts without any relatives in them, (“for privacy reasons”). She sent me the pictures, but she was a bit suspicious because I did not post them immediately :-). Now, I did not want to hurt her feelings and have her think I had another reason for specifically requesting pictures with her little angels excluded, so here goes:

The GFG baby quilt is the first quilt I ever finished. I pieced it by hand with Inklingo hexagons and a border of Inklingo triangles. I am not sure about the sizes (1,5″ hexagons?), but I used Shape collection 3. I machine quilted it (also a first) in the ditch with invisible thread, using a walking foot. I used cotton batting.

The quilt with the stars and tulips is a design by Judy Martin, Spring Star, from the cd ‘Judy Martin Stars and Sets’ by Electric Quilt. I posted about this quilt before. I hand pieced the stars using Inklingo, and I foundation pieced the tulips by machine. I constructed the quilt mostly by machine, hand piecing wherever that was too difficult for me. I quilted it by machine with the BSR. I also used cotton batting here, I like the wrinkly effect.

One more quilt I am showing here is an Irish chain quilt my mother made for me. It sits on a chaise longue in our living room. I designed it and picked and cut the fabrics, and she machine pieced and hand quilted it. It is the only quilt I have, and it is a joy to look at every day.

XXX Anneke

Nederlands

Mijn echte quilts

Linda Franz heeft alweer een nieuwe Inklingo collectie uitgebracht! Deze keer vierkanten en rechthoeken, perfect voor het maken van Log cabin blokken met stroken van 1 inch [2,54 cm.]. Dat deed me denken aan het eerste patchworkblok dat ik ooit gemaakt heb. Dat was een log cabin, en ik geloof dat het ook mijn eerste ervaring op de naaimachine was. Ik weet niet meer hoe oud ik was (8? 9? ouder?), maar het was toen mijn moeder haar eerste quiltlessen nam. Ze maakte log cabins van restjes stof van zelfgemaakte kleding, en ze gebruikte oude lakens als ondergrond. Ze leerde mij ook om de blokken te maken, en ik maakte een log cabin en een courthouse steps blok. Daar maakte zij een mooie stoffen tas mee, met de blokken op opgenaaide zakken, aan de voorkant en de achterkant. Ik heb die tas helemaal versleten, dus die heb ik niet meer. Ik heb eigenlijk maar heel weinig bewijs dat ik een quilter ben :-).

Gelukkig heeft mijn zusje mij deze week eindelijk foto’s gestuurd van de twee babyquilts die ik voor haar dochters heb gemaakt, die intussen al geen baby’s meer zijn. Ik heb zelf nooit fatsoenlijke foto’s gemaakt, daarom heb ik haar gevraagd dat voor mij te doen nadat ik de quilts had overhandigd. Ik denk dat ze de vraag niet helemaal begreep…
Toen ze mij foto’s van de eerste quilt stuurde, blokkeerde een klein mensje het zicht op mijn baby! And dat kleine mensje was poedelnaakt en nog niet zindelijk! Ongelooflijk… wie legt nou zoiets op een handgemaakte quilt? ;-) Mijn zusje is duidelijk geen quilter.

Maar nu ik een blog heb, had ik eindelijk een goed excuus om haar nog eens om foto’s van mijn quilts te vragen, nu zonder familieleden erop (“vanwege de privacy”). Ze stuurde me de foto’s, maar ze werd een beetje achterdochtig toen ik ze niet meteen op mijn blog zette :-). Nou, omdat ik haar niet wil kwetsen of laten denken dat ik een andere reden had om haar specifiek te vragen om foto’s zonder haar lieve schatjes, hier komen ze:

De GFG hexagon baby quilt is de eerste quilt die ik heb afgemaakt. Ik heb hem met de hand genaaid met Inklingo zeshoeken en een rand met Inklingo driehoekjes. Ik weet niet meer precies welke maten (1,5 inch hexagons?), maar ik heb Shape collectie 3 gebruikt. Ik heb hem gequilt met de machine (ook voor het eerst), in de naad met onzichtbaar garen, met een loopvoetje. De vulling is katoen.

De quilt met sterren en tulpjes is naar een ontwerp van Judy Martin, Spring Star, van de cd ‘Judy Martin Stars and Sets’ van Electric Quilt. Ik heb al eerder over deze quilt geschreven. Ik heb de sterren met de hand genaaid met Inklingo, en de tulpen zijn met de machine genaaid op een ondergrond. Ik heb de quilt vnl. met de machine in elkaar gezet, hier en daar met de hand waar het met de machine niet lukte. Deze heb ik op de machine met BSR gequilt. Deze quilt heeft ook een katoenen vulling, ik hou erg van het kreukelige effect dat dat geeft.

Ik laat hier nog een quilt zien, de enige quilt die ik zelf heb. Het is een Ierse ketting (Irish chain) die mijn moeder voor mij heeft gemaakt. Hij ligt op een chaise longue in onze woonkamer. Ik heb zelf het patroon en de stoffen gekozen, en de stoffen ook geknipt, en zij heeft hem genaaid op de machine en gequilt met de hand. Ik vind deze quilt geweldig, en het is een plezier er elke dag naar te kunnen kijken.


XXX Anneke

2 comments on “My actual quilts

  1. He sis, You didn’t mention how absolutely outrageously happy this baby looked on the picture, thanks to that love filled quilt she was laying on…
    thanks so much for your kind words about my intelligence(duh). I am proud to have a sister like you and am honored that you made these beautiful quilts for us. Maybe it was not the milk but the quilts that made them sleep so well and through the night after six weeks ;-)

    • Yes, in all fairness to my sister, she does appreciate handmade quilts. I purposely put them in the washer and the dryer before I gave them to her, because I knew she would not want to risk doing that herself, and therefore, not actually have the babies use them. I solemnly declared they could use them up to rags, with stains and all, and that I would be very proud if they do so, and that my quilts would have served their purpose if that should happen.
      And about her intelligence; nothing wrong with that either, she is almost as smart as I am ;-). I will email her separately to tell her how proud I am of her, we don’t want this blog to get all mushy!

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

