Club EQ Challenge Quilt Designs March 2011

Farmer's Fancy in Spring

Klik hier om direct naar Nederlands te gaan

The Club EQ Challenge for March 2011 was to design a quilt with four blocks in a 2 x 2 horizontal set. I tried to come up with something ‘extra’ in this simple set. I personally would prefer to put only four blocks on point, because I feel it is more dynamic. In this set the block itself, (or a special border treatment) needs to bring energy and dynamics.

I started with an eight pointed star block from the Libraries, made up of several rows of diamonds, which I colored in a vibrant combination. I feel a star like that always radiates energy. You could make these blocks with Inklingo 45 degree diamonds, like in the Free collection with diamonds, triangles and squares, or with any other collection with 45 degree diamonds.

Then I wanted to play with, in my opinion, the most dynamic Inklingo block pattern, the whirling Dresden Plates variation named Farmer’s Fancy. The block I used comes straight from BlockBase, but I added my own appliqué. I like the simplest version (above) the best.

After drawing tulips and daisies, and letting the Wreathmaker tool loose on them, I decided to trace two shapes from the center blocks. This way I created appliqué motifs you can actually make with the same Inklingo shape collection, intended for pieced blocks. You can use the printed sewing lines for front basting appliqué. Of course you would have to print the lines on the right side of the fabric for this method!

The shapes I traced are the center circle and one of the outer triangles from the ring (white in the picture above).  These triangles have a curved base. I used the Wreathmaker tool first to create  a single flower from the circle and the triangle. Next I used it to create the flower wreath. I am quite pleased with this idea, I may actually make a block like this (some day)!

XXX Anneke

Nederlands

De opdracht van de Club EQ Challenge van maart 2011 was om een quilt te ontwerpen met vier blokken, in een 2 x 2 horizontale setting. Ik heb geprobeerd met iets extra’s te komen in deze simpele setting. Ik zou in een quilt met maar vier blokken de blokken liever op de punt zetten, omdat ik dat direct dynamischer vind. Maar voor deze opdracht moesten de blokken zelf (of bijv. speciale randen) de energie en dynamiek brengen.

Ik ben begonnen met een blok uit de Libraries, een achtpuntige ster gemaakt van meerdere rijen ruiten, die ik heb gekleurd in een spannende combinatie. Zo’n ster straalt voor mijn gevoel altijd energie uit. Je kunt deze blokken maken met Inklingo 45 graden ruiten, zoals in de gratis collectie met ruiten, vierkanten en driehoeken, of een van de andere collecties met 45 graden ruiten.

Daarna wilde ik wat uitproberen met wat ik het meest dynamische Inklingo blokpatroon vind, de draaiende Dresden Plates variatie die Farmer’s Fancy heet. Het blok dat ik gebruikt heb komt zo uit BlockBase, maar ik heb er appliqué bij getekend. Ik vind de versie helemaal bovenaan, het simpelste idee, het meest geslaagd.

Nadat ik eerst tulpen en bloemetjes had getekend, en daar de Wreathmaker Tool op had losgelaten, besloot ik om twee vormen uit het middenblok over te trekken. Daarmee maakte ik appliqué motieven die je echt kunt naaien met dezelfde Inklingo collectie patroondelen, ontworpen voor patchwork blokken. Je kunt de geprinte naailijnen gebruiken voor ‘front basting appliqué’. Natuurlijk moet je de lijnen dan wel op de goede kant van de stof printen!

De vormen die ik heb overgetrokken zijn de middencirkel en het buitenste driehoekje uit de ring (wit in het plaatje). Deze driehoekjes hebben een gebogen basis. Ik heb de Wreathmaker Tool eerst gebruikt om een enkel bloemetje te maken van de cirkel en het driehoekje. Vervolgens heb ik met de Wreathmaker de krans van bloemen gemaakt. Ik ben zelf erg tevreden met dit idee, ik denk dat ik (ooit) zo’n blok ga maken!

XXX Anneke

2 comments on “Club EQ Challenge Quilt Designs March 2011

  1. These are all fun designs. I am partial to on-point settings too, but you added energy to these without it.
    I think that quilters who don’t know about Inklingo would think that Farmer’s Fancy with Tulips (my fav) would be impossible to stitch. LOL If they only knew how easy it is with the cutting and sewing lines printed on the fabric. . .
    You are a great designer!

    • I agree with you (also about me being a great designer :-) )
      The center part would be very easy to do with Inklingo, and the tulips and tiny stars around it could be embroidered instead of appliqued. That way even a beginner could do this.

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

