Club EQ Challenge Designs July 2011

Rain in a Bird's Eye - Regen in Vogeloogjes

Click here to go straight to English

Het thema van de Club EQ Challenge van juli 2011 was ‘het weer’. Nou, met onze Hollandse zomer kun je je wel voorstellen dat dat twee grijze quilts zijn geworden. Ik vond het grappig om te zien dat plaatsgenote Carien ook iets heel regenachtigs had ingestuurd! Je kunt alle inzendingen hier zien.

Mijn eerste ontwerp stelt de regen voor, gezien door de vogels. De paraplublokken heb ik zelf getekend als een Easy Draw + Patch Draw blok. De paraplu’s in Easy Draw en de regenspatten er overheen in Patch Draw. Ik realiseerde me na het tekenen dat de Inklingo Dresden Plates collecties (Appliqué en Pieced) soortgelijke blokken bevatten. Kijk in het Inklingo Dresden Plates Design Book op pagina’s 17-19 en 38.

Voor de rand met vogels heb ik een blok uit de EQ Libraries gebruikt, Bluebird on Branch. Ook daar heb ik regendruppels overheen getekend, en ik heb de hoekblokken zelf gemaakt door heel eenvoudig de boomtak om te buigen. Voor mij ademt dit quiltje echt de grijze sfeer van een zomer met dagenlang continu regen.

Het tweede ontwerp (onder) heb ik gemaakt met twee kant-en-klare blokken. Het ene is Snow Crystals uit BlockBase, en het andere is Sunburst and Mills. Deze sneeuw en zon staan voor de uitersten in het weer deze zomer.

Maar ik laat me niet kisten, herfstweer is lekker quiltweer. En als ik eruit moet stap ik vrolijk in mijn appelgroene rubberlaarzen met de bontgestreepte voering, en neem ik minzaam de jaloerse blikken in ontvangst van degenen met natte voeten! Gezondheid!

XXX Anneke

English

A Strange Summer - Rare Zomer

The theme for the July 2011 Club EQ Challenge was ‘Weather’. With what passes for summer in The Netherlands this year, it is no surprise two gray quilts came out. I smiled when I saw that fellow ‘Rotterdammer’ Carien also entered something very rainy. You can see all entries here.

My first design (at the top of this post), pictures the rain as seen by the birds. I drafted the umbrella blocks as an Easy Draw + Patch Draw block. The umbrellas are done in Easy Draw, and the splashes of rain on top are done in Patch Draw. After drawing the blocks I realized that the Inklingo Dresden Plates collections (Appliqué and Pieced) have similar blocks. You can find them in the Inklingo Dresden Plates Design Book on pages 17-19 and 38.

I used the Bluebird on Branch block from the EQ Libraries for the borders. I adapted the block by adding rain drops on top, and I made the corner blocks by simply curving the branch. To me this quilt radiates the gray atmosphere of a summer with days of continuous rain.

I made the second design with two ready made blocks. One is Snow Crystals from BlockBase, the other is Sunburst and Mills from the EQ Libraries. The snow and sun symbolize the extremes in summer weather this year.

But I won’t let it get me down, autumn weather is great quilting weather. And if I have to go out, I cheerfully step into my apple green rubber boots with the colorful striped lining, and graciously accept envious looks from the wet-footed. Cheers!

XXX Anneke

2 comments on “Club EQ Challenge Designs July 2011

  1. Anneke, I really love your Rain in a Bird’s Eye quilt. Very original. I wish I had your imagination to dream up all of your creations. Keep them coming.

    • Thank you for your nice comment, Peggy! I think it takes less imagination than many people are assuming. I am convinced many quilters can achieve much more than they think, if they would try their hand at EQ. As a child we all made drawings, and I am sure most of us enjoyed it and just started, not overthinking it. Whenever I start drawing I just try something. It is not like I have a complete vision in my head that I just have to put to paper. I just see what comes out. When I don’t like it I will just try something different. And very often I produce something that surprises me!Hugs, Anneke

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

