Club EQ Challenge Designs August 2011

City below Sea Level

Click here to go straight to English

In augustus 2011 was het thema van de Club EQ Challenge ‘landschap’. Omdat ik ben geboren en getogen op de bodem van de zee, denk ik bij landschap niet aan ‘natuur’, maar aan de door mensenhanden gemaakte vlakke, rechte Nederlandse landschappen. En typisch Hollands, en makkelijk te verbeelden bovendien, is laag land beschermd door dijken, met hoog water ernaast. Dus dat heb ik gebruikt als inspiratie.

Ik heb van dit landschap een plattelandsversie gemaakt met een kant-en-klaar molenblok uit BlockBase. De tussenblokken met polder en de zee heb ik zelf getekend in EQ7.

De stadsversie heeft Hollandse trap- en klokgeveltjes (het lijken eigenlijk meer speentjes, zie ik nu). Dit stadje is ook omringd door groene dijken met daarachter hoog blauw water. Ik heb hier alle blokken zelf getekend, behalve de zon, die komt uit BlockBase.

XXX Anneke

English

Dutch landscape with windmills

In August 2011  the theme for the Club EQ Challenge was ‘Landscape’. Because I was born and raised on the bottom of the sea, Landscape does not mean ‘nature’ to me, my first thought goes to the manmade, flat, straight-lined landscapes of the Netherlands. Typically Dutch, and easy to picture, is low land protected by dikes, with high water next to it. So I used that as inspiration.

I made a country version of this landscape with a Windmill block from BlockBase. I drafted the alternating blocks with polder and sea in EQ7.

The city version of this landscape has typically Dutch houses with gables in the shapes of steps and bells (although mine look more like pacifiers, now that I look at them again). This city is also surrounded by green dikes with high blue water behind them. I drafted all the blocks here, except for the sun, which is from BlockBase.

XXX Anneke

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

