Food BOM – Hollandse Hap BOM 2

Salami Block Food BOM, machine appliquéd with invisible thread on top and a fuchsia bobbin thread, text free motion machine embroidery, using variegated quilting thread - Salami blok Food BOM, machinaal appliqué met onzichtbaar garen in de naald, en fuchsia garen op het spoeltje, tekst machinaal geborduurd uit de vrije hand, met quiltgaren in kleurverloop

Click here to go straight to English

Deze maand in de Food BOM’s: Salami en Rookworst. Ik moet bekennen dat ik allebei niet lekker vind. Maar ik heb toch mijn tanden in het Salami-blokje gezet. Zo’n grappig klein project is toch wel een uitgelezen kans om wat nieuwe dingen te testen, dus dat heb ik maar aangegrepen. Niet met de rookworst, want die vorm op dit formaat leent zich niet voor appliqué met een naar binnen geslagen zoompje, en daar wilde ik mij eens op storten.

Rookworst Block

En omdat ik dat wilde doen met Karen Kay Buckley’s Perfect Circles® moest ik een cirkelblokje kiezen. Om mee te beginnen heb ik een gekozen met alleen maar een cirkel. Ik vond een restje gestipte stof dat best voor salami kan doorgaan, zodat ik zelf de witte plekjes in de salami niet hoefde te fabrieken met kraaltjes, opgestreken stof of borduurwerk. Vandaar dat de keuze op salami viel als eerste blok om zelf te naaien.

Ik ga de hele Food BOM maken, ik heb een hele berg ‘charms’ (lapjes van 11 x 11 cm.) uitgezocht. (Ja hoor, ik heb wel charm(e)s, maar die bewaar ik veilig in een kast!). De Hollandse Hap BOM blokken maak ik (voorlopig?) niet.

Omdat alle 2 inch cirkels van verschillende stoffen worden gemaakt, wilde ik kijken of ik de Perfect Circles kon gebruiken zonder de geprinte lijnen van de Inklingo Circles collectie.

Nou, het kan wel, maar met de lijntjes wordt het ongetwijfeld veel makkelijker en netter. Maar telkens maar een kleine cirkel printen is gewoon niet efficiënt, dus ik moet het maar met alleen het plastic malletje doen.

In een volgende post zal ik wat foto’s laten zien van hoe ik het blok gemaakt hebt, en vertellen wat ik nog meer heb geleerd.

Mijn allereerste appliqué! En mijn eerste machinale borduurwerkje! Lief he?

Nou, als je nu ook zin hebt om dit te maken, klik dan op de links hieronder voor: 

Alle eerdere pdf’s en de EQ7 bestanden vind je op  pagina met downloads, en ook in de links naar mijn eerste post over deze BOM’s.

XXX Anneke

ENGLISH

Salami block

This month in the Food BOM’s: Salami and Rookworst (smoked sausage). I chose the rookworst for Dutch Delight of the Month because I actually made the Salami block, and two sausages together seemed fitting.

I don’t eat rookworst myself, because I never liked the fat, slightly sour taste. But it is traditional to eat rookworst during winter, with heavy traditional Dutch dishes like pea soup or a vegetable mash (‘stamppot’, literally mash pot). I don’t like pea soup anyway, and I prefer my stamppot with little meatballs.

I did not really feel like sinking my teeth into the Rookworst block, either. The shape in this size would only lend itself to a form of appliqué without a seam turned under. But a fun little project like this is a great opportunity for trying new things, and I wanted to try my hand at machine appliqué with Karen Kay Buckley’s Perfect Circles®. So I picked one of the blocks with just one circle, and gave it a try. I found a scrap of dotted fabric that I think can pass for salami, so I would not have to add any white spots myself with beads, fused fabric or embroidery. Hence the choice for salami as the first block to sew.

I am going to make the entire Food BOM. I selected a range of charm squares from my stash. (Yes, I do have charms, but I keep them in a closet!). I am not making the Dutch Delights BOM blocks (for now?).

Because all of the 2 inch circles are going to be of different fabrics, I wanted to see if I could use the Perfect Circles without the printed lines from Inklingo’s Circles collection.

Well, I found out you can, but it would be a lot easier and neater with the printed lines. But printing just one small circle each time is not very efficient, so I will just have to rely on the plastic circle template.

In a following post I will show some pictures of how I made the block, and tell you more about what I learned.

My very first appliqué! And my first machine embroidery! I like it!

If you feel like making this, too, click on the links below for:

All previous pdf’s and the EQ7 files are on my Downloads Page, and in the links in my first post about this BOM.

XXX Anneke

 

One comment on “Food BOM – Hollandse Hap BOM 2

  1. Pingback: What I learned doing my very first appliqué « Stof genoeg

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

