Pin Wheel Star Quilts

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Klik hier om direct naar Nederlands te gaan

Browsing The Quilt Index the other day, I discovered a pattern that I really liked. (Click here to see this quilt.)

I did not think I would be able to draft this myself in EQ, so I was very happy to find it in BlockBase (#3818, Pin Wheel Star). It is also in Jinny Beyer’s ‘The Quilter’s Album of Pathwork Patterns’ (286-8).

As you can see, I designed some quilts with this Pin Wheel Star block. When I did a little math, I found that it is not Inklingoable (yet?). If my calculations are correct, the ratio between the length of the sides of the smaller star points to the larger star points is 1 : 2.414. At the moment there are five sizes of the necessary 45 degree diamonds, of which there are no two with this size ratio between them.

Maybe the pattern can be made on a larger scale with Inklingo shapes, if you piece the star points with rows of Inklingo diamonds, but I have not done the math for that. I only managed to calculate for a quilt about the size of Rotterdam, with 1207 rows of diamonds (any size) for each center star point, and 500 rows of the same size diamond to form each smaller, outer star point. ;-)

But, if you don’t mind working with traditional templates, you could make one of these in a regular size. Enjoy! 

XXX Anneke

Nederlands

Bladerend door The Quilt Index vond ik laatst een patroon dat ik erg mooi vind. (Klik hier om deze quilt te zien.) 

Omdat ik geen idee had hoe ik dat blok zou moeten tekenen in EQ, was ik blij dat het kant-en-klaar in BlockBase bleek te staan. (nr. 3818, Pin Wheel Star). Het staat ook in Jinny Beyer’s ‘The Quilter’s Album of Pathwork Patterns’ (286-8).

Zoals je hierboven kunt zien heb ik een paar quilts ontworpen met dit Pin Wheel Star blok. Toen ik wat ging rekenen, bleek dat het blok (nog?) niet te maken is met Inklingo patroondelen. Als mijn berekeningen kloppen, dan is de verhouding tussen de lengte van de zijden van de kleine sterpunten tot de grote sterpunten 1 : 2,414. Op dit moment zijn er in Inklingo vijf maten van de benodigde 45 graden ruiten, waarvan geen twee met deze onderlinge verhouding.

Misschien kan het patroon wel op een grotere schaal gemaakt worden, met genaaide sterpunten die elk bestaan uit rijen van meerdere Inklingo ruiten, maar dat heb ik niet uitgerekend. Ik kwam niet verder dan een quilt met 1207 rijen ruiten in een willekeurige maat voor elke middelste sterpunt, en 500 rijen van dezelfde maat Inklingo patroondeel voor elke omringende, kleinere sterpunt ;-). Met die quilt kan je waarschijnlijk heel Rotterdam bedekken! 

Maar, als je bereid bent met ouderwetse malletjes te werken, kun je een van deze quilts natuurlijk wel in een normale maat maken. Veel plezier!

XXX Anneke

One comment on “Pin Wheel Star Quilts

  1. Anneke…I really like what you have done here. Too bad there isn’t an Inklingoable way to do these. I particularly like the horizontal layout with the modified nine-patch. What fun you must have. I have an older version of EQ somewhere. I have changed from the older Windows to Vista since then…and I never sat down with it long enough to master the learning curve. It’s on my some day list of things to learn along with Photoshop Elements.

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

