Food BOM – Hollandse Hap BOM 4

Fried Egg and Olive blocks (from part 1) finished

Click here to go straight to English (after the pictures)

Het novemberblok voor de Food BOM is Fried Egg [Gebakken Ei] en voor de Hollandse Hap is het Edammer kaas.

Edam Cheese block - Edammer kaas blok

HH BOM blok Edammer Kaas - Dutch Delights BOM Block Edam Cheese

Ik heb het Gebakken Ei gemaakt (en ook de Olijf uit de eerste aflevering van de BOM’s) met behulp van twee maten van Karen Kay Buckley’s Perfect Circles®. Nu ik zulke kleine rondjes nodig had, viel me wel op dat de uiteindelijke cirkel steeds ietsje groter wordt dan de mal, door de dikte van de stof die je om de rand heenvouwt. Als je moet kiezen tussen twee maten malletjes is dat iets om rekening mee te houden.

Ik heb eerst de grote en de kleine cirkels gemaakt. Daarna heb ik de kleine cirkels met een lijmpen voor textiel tijdelijk op de grotere cirkels vastgelijmd. Ik heb zo’n beetje geschat waar het eigeel moest komen, maar daarbij heb ik naar het spiegelbeeldige patroon gekeken. Suf! Maar gelukkig maakt het op een ei niks uit waar de dooier zit.

Omdat het zo’n klein rondje is leek machinaal appliqué me te lastig, en heb ik dit met de hand gedaan. Ook weer een heel nieuwe ervaring voor mij! Ik heb zelf maar een beetje verzonnen hoe ik dat zou kunnen doen, en het is heel netjes geworden, vind ik zelf. Je ziet niets van de kleine steekjes met het dunne garen in de kleur van de achtergrondstof (Superior Threads Kimono Silk).

Vervolgens heb ik de grotere cirkel op de achtergrond gelijmd, en daarna heb ik het met de machine op de ondergrond geappliqueerd, op dezelfde manier als de vorige blokken. Het machinaal borduren tenslotte, heb ik ook weer gedaan zoals bij de vorige blokken.

En hier zijn de patronen:

Alle eerdere pdf’s en de EQ7 bestanden vind je op mijn pagina met downloads, en ook in de voorgaande posts over deze BOM’s:

Eerste post over deze BOM’s 

https://stofgenoeg.wordpress.com/2011/08/28/saving-freezer-paper-when-printing-blocks-for-the-food-bom/ 

https://stofgenoeg.wordpress.com/2011/09/01/food-bom-hollandse-hap-bom-2/ 

https://stofgenoeg.wordpress.com/2011/09/07/what-i-learned-doing-my-very-first-applique/ 

Food BOM – Hollandse Hap BOM 3

XXX Anneke

ENGLISH

 

The November block for the Food BOM is Fried Egg, and for the Dutch Delights Block it is Edam Cheese.

As you can tell by the number of cheese blocks in the Food BOM’s (Gouda, Edam and Mozzarella) I love cheese. I could give up eating meat easily, but I would only give up cheese if I really, really, really had to. When I thought of a joke BOM project for my blog, my first idea was to design a ‘Cheesy BOM’, with 12 circles portraying different types of cheese. I only decided against it because I did not have enough fabrics in different cheese like colors. All yellow circles would be too cheesy!

I made the Fried Egg block (and the Olive block from my first post about these BOM‘s) using two sizes of Karen Kay Buckley’s Perfect Circles®. Now that I needed small circles, I noticed that the actual circle always ends up a bit bigger than the template, due to the thickness of the fabric folded over the edge. That is something to take into account if you have to choose between two sizes of templates.

First I made the large and small circles for both blocks. Then I glue basted the smaller circle to the larger one with a glue pen. I eyeballed the spot for the egg yolk, unfortunately looking at the mirror imaged pattern. Silly me! Luckily, it does not matter where the yolk is on an egg.

Because this was such a small circle, I thought machine appliqué would be tricky, so I decided to do this by hand. Another first for me! I sort of made up my own way of doing this, since I did not have an example or instruction. It turned out neat, you can’t see the stitches with thin thread in the color of the background fabric (with Superior Threads Kimono Silk).

After that, I glue basted the circle to the background fabric, and appliquéd it by machine, like I did the previous blocks. And finally, the free motion machine embroidery was also done the same way as before.

And now, the patterns:

All previous pdf’s and the EQ7 files are on my Downloads Page, and in the links in previous posts about this BOM: 

my first post about these BOM‘s.

https://stofgenoeg.wordpress.com/2011/08/28/saving-freezer-paper-when-printing-blocks-for-the-food-bom/

https://stofgenoeg.wordpress.com/2011/09/01/food-bom-hollandse-hap-bom-2/

https://stofgenoeg.wordpress.com/2011/09/07/what-i-learned-doing-my-very-first-applique/

Food BOM – Hollandse Hap BOM 3

XXX Anneke

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

