Tadaa! A Finished Quilt!

A finished quilt in 2011! Een quilt af in 2011!

Click here to go straight to English

Heet van de naald, de Food BOM Quilt!

Ik heb hem vandaag (ik kijk op de klok en zie dat dat inmiddels gisteren is), afgemaakt, dus nog net op tijd om te kunnen zeggen dat ik dit jaar (eindelijk weer) een quilt heb gemaakt.

Ik vond het een erg leuk projectje (ca. 37 x 46 cm.) om te doen. Ik heb hem speciaal ontworpen om verschillende technieken in te verwerken, en zo’n klein ding is ideaal om eerste beetjes ervaring op te doen met:

  • Machinaal appliqué met en zonder afgewerkte rand, 
  • met en zonder plakvlies, en 
  • Appliqué met de hand, 
  • machinaal borduren uit de vrije hand, 
  • machinaal quilten met het lastige onzichtbaar naaigaren. Dit heb ik met een loopvoetje rondom de sashings en de cirkels gedaan. 
  • machinaal quilten met heel dun zijden garen. Dit heb ik gedaan uit de vrije hand (met de BSR) in de blauwe rand. 

De hele quilt is gemaakt uit mijn voorraad, van charm lapjes en restjes stof, plakvlies en katoenen vulling, diverse garens en knoopjes van oude overhemden. Het leek me leuk om het thema ‘rondjes’ van de blokken door te zetten in de stof, en ik had genoeg gestipte charms en restjes om dat te kunnen doen.

Ik heb ook nog een foto gemaakt van de achterkant, maar daar is niet heel veel aan te zien. Ik ben vergeten een etiket te maken, dat komt nog. En iets om hem op te hangen was ook wel handig geweest, maar daar heb ik ook niet aan gedacht toen ik zo lekker bezig was. Er zijn meer dingen die ik achteraf anders zou doen. Maar, zoals quilters dan in goed Hollands zeggen: ‘Finished is better than perfect’.

En daar proost ik op! Alvast een heel mooi uiteinde, en een heel Gelukkig NieuwJaar!

XXX Anneke

English

Back of the Food BOM Quilt - Achterkant van de Food BOM Quilt

Hot off the press, the Food BOM Quilt!

I finished it today (I look at the clock and see that that has turned into yesterday by now), so just in time to be able to say that I (finally, again) made a quilt this year.

It was a fun little project (14.5 inches by 18 inches). I designed it especially to allow me to try out several new techniques. And this size was perfect for getting a little bit of experience with:

  • Hand and Machine appliqué with turned-under seam, 
  • Fusible raw edge appliqué, 
  • Free motion machine embroidery, 
  • Machine quilting with the sometimes tricky invisible thread. I did this with a walking foot, around the sashings and the appliqué. 
  • Machine quilting with very thin silk thread, I did this free motioning (with the BSR) in the blue border. 

The entire quilt was made from stash, with mostly charm squares and scraps of fabric, fusible web and cotton batting, several threads and reclaimed buttons. I thought it would be fun to continue the block theme of ‘circles’ in the fabrics, and I found enough dotty charms and scraps to do that.

There is not much to see about the back of the quilt. I forgot to make a label or something to hang the quilt with. I will do that later. There are more things that I would do differently next time, but, hey, Finished Is Better Than Perfect!

I will drink to that! I am wishing you a very good ‘ending’ and a very Happy New Year!

XXX Anneke

2 comments on “Tadaa! A Finished Quilt!

  1. Pingback: A Lazy Quilter’s Hanging | Stof genoeg

  2. Dear sis,
    Looking at this quilt makes me hungry, my mouth watering. I also love the colors! This would go very nicely with the hightea embroidery you made me… Just thought I’d mention it… Your proud little sister

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

