A Lazy Quilter’s Hanging

Food Quilt hanging - De Food quilt hangt

Click here to go straight to English

Mijn Food miniatuurquilt hangt. Ik heb hem meegenomen naar mijn kantoor met metalen wanden. Ik heb geen tunnel of lusjes ofzo bevestigd. Ik heb alleen een paar extra-sterke magneetjes gekocht om de quilt mee vast te maken. Je hebt er wel een paar nodig om te voorkomen dat de quilt naar beneden glijdt over de muur, maar gelukkig vond ik ronde magneetjes in de kleuren van mijn quilt. Dus het cirkelthema is nog helemaal intact.

Nu dwing ik iedereen die zo onverstandig is mijn kantoor binnen te komen om naar mijn quiltje te kijken. Mijn collega’s zijn voor het grootste deel jong, man en technisch opgeleid. Als ze ‘quilt’ horen denken ze aan een Schotse rok. Ik voel het als mijn plicht om ze een beetje bij te schaven.

De meeste ‘belangstellenden’ zien de magneetjes niet direct. Ze trekken aan een hoekje van de quilt om te zien hoe hij vast zit (lijm?). De magneetjes vliegen steeds weer door de lucht! 

Een dezer dagen raakt iemand nog een oog kwijt door mijn Food quiltje. Nou, dat zal ze leren om van de quilts af te blijven. En dan kan ik met recht zeggen dat mijn werkstukje oogverblindend mooi is. Dus ik laat hem natuurlijk lekker zo hangen. Woehoe, het ruige leven!

(Nou, waar liggen de papieren van mijn aansprakelijkheidsverzekering ook alweer?)

XXX Anneke

English

Find the four magnets - Vind de vier magneetjes

My Food mini quilt is hanging. I took it to my office, where I have metal walls. I did not add a hanging sleeve or rings or whatever. I just bought some tiny extra strong magnets to hang the quilt with. You need a couple to keep it from sliding down the wall, but I was lucky to find round magnets in matching colors to my quilt. So the circle theme remains uncompromised.

Now I force everyone coming into my office to look at my quilt. My colleagues are mostly young male technically oriented professionals, and they can’t tell a quilt from a kilt. I feel it is my duty to educate them.

Most ‘admirers’ don’t notice the magnets at first. And the technicals all pull at a corner of the quilt to see how it is attached (glue?). The magnets keep flying through the air!

One of these days someone will loose an eye because of my Food quilt. Now that will teach them to not touch the quilt! And then I can truly say it is blindingly beautiful. So of course I will leave it just as it is. Woo hoo, living on the edge!

(Now, where did I put the papers from my liability insurance?)

XXX Anneke

2 comments on “A Lazy Quilter’s Hanging

  1. Good for you for exposing these people (men) to the other creative side. Most men don’t even think that in past generations many creative sew-ers were men as tailors! I love how your mini softens your wall. It sure is a cutie.

    • Hi Jillian, Yes, men are people too :-). And they already seem happier and more complete people now that they know about quilts. Hugs, Anneke

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

