Vlisco Fabrics – Vlisco Stoffen

Click here to go straight to English

In de NRC Next van woensdag 15 februari stond een bespreking van de tentoonstelling ‘Six Yards Guaranteed Dutch Design’, in het Museum voor Moderne Kunst in Arnhem. Vijf (uit vijf) punten! Een echte aanrader dus.

De ‘Six Yards’ slaat op Vlisco batikstof, die per 6 yard [ca. 5,5 meter] wordt verkocht. Nu weet ik zeker dat ik erheen moet. Ik was al van plan naar deze tentoonstelling te gaan, want ik vind de Vlisco stoffen prachtig. Of eigenlijk, ik vind de jurken die Vlisco in zijn reclamecampagnes toont, gemaakt van Vlisco stoffen, prachtig!

Ik ben speciaal geabonneerd op de gratis Vlisco e-mail nieuwsbrief om een paar keer per jaar te kunnen watertanden bij de foto’s van prachtige vrouwen in ravissante uitdossing. In zo’n koninginnengewaad zou ik ook weleens op een gepaste gelegenheid de show willen stelen, maar de kans dat dat gaat gebeuren is nogal klein. Ten eerste ben ik nog nooit op een feestje van Afrikaanse jet-set uitgenodigd, en ten tweede denk ik dat ik te klein ben om die grote prints te kunnen hebben. Maar een meisje mag toch dromen, nietwaar? 

Ondertussen zou ik ook nog willen dat Vlisco poppen verkocht met deze jurken in miniatuur, of misschien alleen maar papieren aankleedpoppen met een paar van de meest spectaculaire outfits. Ik zou die meteen gaan verzamelen!

Aan zo’n lap stof begin ik maar niet. Voor ik het weet ben ik verslaafd, en koop ik mijn stoffen per 6 yard in plaats van per charm pack. En dan is het huis echt te klein!

Op YouTube kun je trouwens veel meer filmpjes vinden met Vlisco-jurken. Zoek op Vlisco, en kijk je ogen uit naar reclamespotjes en reportages van Afrikaanse modeshows!

XXX Anneke

ENGLISH

In my newspaper I read a five dot (highest score) review of the exhibition ‘Six Yards Guaranteed Dutch Design’, in the Museum of Modern Art in Arnhem, The Netherlands. I don’t see five dot reviews very often, so I think I can safely recommend a visit.

‘Six Yards’ refers to Vlisco wax print fabrics, which are sold in 6 yard pieces. I had already planned to go see this exhibition, because I think Vlisco fabrics are gorgeous. Or, more precise, I think the dresses that Vlisco show in their ads, made of Vlisco fabrics, are gorgeous!

I subscribed to their free e-mail newsletter just for the opportunity to drool over their pictures of beautiful women in spectacular dresses. I would love to steal the show wearing one of those royal robes at a fitting occasion, but the odds of that happening are fairly small. First, because I have never been invited to an African jet-set party, and second, because I fear I am too short to be able to carry off these large prints. But a girl can dream, can’t she?

In the meantime, I wish Vlisco sold dolls with these dresses in miniature, or maybe just paper dolls with a couple of the most spectacular outfits. I would start collecting those right away!

Anything to avoid starting to buy the fabrics. Before I know it, I will have turned my charm pack habit into a 6 yard habit. We can’t have that, or someone will have to leave, to make room in this house.

BTW, you can find many more videos with Vlisco dresses on YouTube. Search ‘Vlisco’ and prepare to have your eyes popping out, taking in the adverts and reports from African fashion shows!

XXX Anneke

One comment on “Vlisco Fabrics – Vlisco Stoffen

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

