Designing Quilts in 3D?

Inklingo's YinYang blocks alternated with 60 degree triangles, set around hexagons - Inklingo's YinYang blokken afgewisseld met 60 graden driehoeken, gezet rondom zeshoeken

Click here to go straight to English

Ik heb vanavond voor het eerst van mijn leven een 3D film gezien, Hugo van Martin Scorsese. Prachtig!!

Ik had niet gedacht dat ik de 3D-beleving zo magisch zou vinden, en ik weet zeker dat dat te maken heeft met de manier waarop 3D een extra laag toevoegt aan het verhaal, het is hier meer dan gewoon een special effect. Ik zou zeggen dat 3D een dimensie aan deze film toevoegt, zoals quilten een patchwork top tot leven brengt.

Na afloop van de film vroeg ik me direct af wanneer ik mijn quilts in 3D zou kunnen ontwerpen… Het moet technisch al mogelijk zijn, maar wanneer kan ik thuis, op mijn eigen computertje, bovenstaande quilt weergeven in levensechte stoffen?

Wanneer kan ik verschillende quiltmotieven in 3D bekijken in de grote zeshoeken, en de effecten van verschillende soorten vulling bekijken op het scherm? Neem ik katoenen stof, of toch maar zijden satijn? Een laag wollen vulling, of toch twee lagen katoen? En als ik de quiltsteken iets groter maak, wat is dan het verschil in textuur…? O, ik kan niet wachten tot het zover is!

En stel je voor hoe educatief het zou zijn om al die instructie video’s voor quilten en naaien in 3D te kunnen zien! We gaan het vast nog meemaken, maar tot die tijd zijn hieronder twee filmpjes van Linda Franz in ‘gewoon’ HD video. Ze laat heel duidelijk zien hoe je een zespuntige ster kunt naaien met de hand, en Inklingo’s lijntjes en markeringen.

O ja, over mijn quiltontwerp hierboven later meer. Ik heb verschillende Inklingo-blokpatronen in een Jack’s Chain setting gezet, en deze, met de 6 inch YinYang blokken, is mijn favoriet. Simpel idee, spectaculair effect! (Net als 3D eigenlijk… ;-))

XXX Anneke

ENGLISH

Tonight, for the first time in my life, I saw a 3D movie. Hugo, by Martin Scorsese. Wonderful!!

I did not think I would find the 3D experience so magical, and I am sure the fact that I did, has to do with the way 3D adds an extra layer to the story, it is more than just a special effect. I would say 3D brings dimension to this film, like quilting brings a patchwork top to life.

Immediately after leaving the cinema, I was wondering when I would be able to design my quilts in 3D… I am sure this is technically feasible already, but when will I be able to see the quilt above, designing at home, with my own little computer, in lifelike fabrics?

When will I be able to audition several quilting motifs in 3D, and audition the effects of different battings on screen? Will I use cotton fabric, or silk satin? One layer of wool batting, or two layers of cotton? And if I make the quilting stitches larger, what will be the difference in texture…? O, I can’t wait for this to happen!

And, imagine how educational it would be to be able to see all these instruction videos for quilting and sewing in 3D! I am sure we will live to see it, but until that day, here are two videos by Linda Franz in ‘ordinary’ HD video. She shows very clearly how to hand piece a six pointed star, with Inklingo’s lines and crosshairs.

And o yes, I will write more about my quilt design at the top later. I have put several Inklingo block patterns in a Jack’s Chain set, and this one, with the 6 inch Yin Yang blocks, is my favorite. Simple idea, stunning effect! (Very much like 3D ;-))

XXX Anneke

3 comments on “Designing Quilts in 3D?

  1. Pingback: Club EQ Challenge Designs February 2012 | Stof genoeg

  2. Your red and white Yin Yang design got my heart racing. Unfortunately, a 6 inch hexagon is too wide for an ordinary Inkjet printer. Would you be happy with 6 inch equilateral triangles? Just thinking out loud. . .

    • Dear Linda & Monkey, Thank you for your offer!
      It would come in handy if I decided to write a pattern for this design.
      But, even with only the YinYang blocks being Inklingoable, I think this design is tempting enough to take the trouble of drafting a 6 inch hexagon template myself, and piecing the 6 inch equilateral triangles out of 3 inch equilateral triangles (4 each), which *are* already available as Inklingo shapes. Fussy cutting the middle of the four triangles could look great.

      Love and Hugs, and be careful with that racing heart ;-)

      Anneke

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

