Club EQ Challenge Designs February 2012

Jacob's Ladder Blocks in a Jack's Chain Set; a Jacob's Chain quilt! - Jacob's Ladder blokken in een Jack's Chain set; een Jacob's Chain Quilt!

Click here to go straight to English

De Februari Club EQ Challenge opdracht was om iets nieuws te doen met een ‘Jacob’s Ladder’ blok. Er zijn verschillende blokken met de naam ‘Jacob’s Ladder’ en om het nog wat verwarrender te maken hebben deze blokken ook nog andere namen. Ik ben aan de slag gegaan met het blok dat in de EQ Libraries ‘Road to California’ wordt genoemd.

Het nieuwe dat ik met dit blok heb gedaan, is het in een niet-vierkante set plaatsen. Zes vierkante blokken rondom een zeshoek, en daartussen gelijkzijdige driehoeken, en dat alles herhaald in een doorlopend patroon.

Deze set is bekend van de patronen ‘Merry Go Round’ en ‘Jack’s Chain’, en het is een favoriet van mij.

Tot op heden was ik te lui om deze set in EQ te maken met losse zeshoeken, vierkanten en driehoeken, op laag 2 van een quilt. Het is nl. nogal lastig en bewerkelijk om alle patroondelen dan netjes te laten aansluiten. Dat is me nog niet helemaal gelukt, maar nu ik er eens voor ben gaan zitten heb ik toch een bruikbaar project.

Dat kan ik steeds opnieuw gebruiken door de vierkante blokken door andere te vervangen. Ik heb met verschillende Inklingobare blokken gespeeld. Mijn favoriete versie, in rood-wit met YinYang blokken, heb ik al getoond in een vorige post, en nu laat ik de rest ook zien.

Ik heb weinig tijd, daarom geef ik niet voor alle variaties maten en collecties. Als je deze quilts wilt maken, zijn de maten van de vierkante Inklingo-blokken (4.5, 6 of 9 inch) je uitgangspunt. De zijden van de driehoeken en zeshoeken moeten even lang zijn als de zijden van de vierkanten. Zulke grote zeshoeken en driehoeken zijn niet beschikbaar als Inklingo patroondeel.

Als je de zeshoeken en driehoeken niet zelf wilt tekenen en afmeten, kun je ze samenstellen uit gelijkzijdige Inklingo-driehoeken van met zijden van bijv. 2.25 inch (op cd #3, met boek) of 3 inch (60 degree diamond 3.0 inch download).

XXX Anneke

ENGLISH

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The February Club EQ Challenge was to do something new with a Jacob’s Ladder block. There are several blocks with this name, and to make it more confusing, they have other names as well. I used the block that is named Road to California in the EQ Libraries.

The new thing I did with this block, was to place it in a non-square set. Six square blocks around a hexagon, with equilateral triangles in between, everything repeated in a continuous pattern. This set is known from the Merry Go Round and Jack’s Chain patterns, and it is one of my favorites.

Until now I had been too lazy to create this set in EQ from separate hexagons, squares and triangles, on layer 2 of a quilt. It is a bit tricky, and a lot of work, to make all the shapes match up seamlessly. I did not quite succeed, but now that I made an effort, I managed to come up with a usable project.

I can use it over and over, by replacing the square blocks with different ones. I played around with several Inklingo-able blocks. I have shown my favorite version in a previous post, the red-and-white one with YinYang blocks, and now I am showing you the rest as well.

I don’t have much time, so I am not giving collections and sizes for all designs. If you want to make these quilts, the size of the square Inklingo blocks (4.5, 6 or 9 inches) is your starting point. The sides of the hexagons and triangles have to be the same length as the sides of the squares. Hexagons and triangles in 4.5, 6 or 9 inches are not available as Inklingo shapes.

If you don’t want to draft and measure your own triangles and hexagons, you  can piece them from Inklingo 60 degree triangles in smaller sizes, like 2.25 inches (on cd #3, with book), or 3 inches (in the 60 degree diamond 3.0 inch download).

XXX Anneke

3 comments on “Club EQ Challenge Designs February 2012

  1. Pingback: 26.0 SQ Ep 044 (42) – Life the Universe and Everything « Scientific Quilter

  2. Wow! You have done something I have wanted to do but as you said “have been too lazy” to do, create a Jack’s Chain pattern in EQ7 to be able to play with all the variations of square blocks there can be. Are you willing to share the project file? Which grid system did you use to create the blocks to keep things accurate in making this grid for blocks? I attempted to do this, and posted on the EQ7 page on facebook and they said it was tricky to create and I needed to contact customer service for help in making this quilt variation. Love seeing what you’re doing on other designs too! Hope to hear from you soon. scientificquilter@gmail.com

    • Thank you Darla, I am very glad you took the time to leave a comment here, and lead me to your blog that way!

      It is unique, and I love it! I intend to read all of it.

      Of course I am not just giving away my EQ7 file! But…I will trade it for your podcasts :-)

      About the ‘grid system’ I used. Ha! What do you think I am? A scientific quilter? ;-)

      I used a one patch hexagon quilt on layer 1, so I could start with lining up six square blocks around one hexagon on layer 1 perfectly.

      Next, it is a matter of placing adjacent blocks (as motifs on layer 2) perfectly aligned to them, and onwards.

      My blocks are not perfectly aligned. But you could make it better, if you have the patience.

      Set your snap settings to the tiniest increments (1/32 inch), to make really small nudges possible and zoom in really close on the motifs set on layer 2.
      I hope this is clear, or at least will become clear when you look in the file.

      Annika

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

