Club EQ Challenge Designs March 2012

zZz Quilt

Click here to go straight to English

Voor de Maart Club EQ Challenge moesten we belettering gebruiken in de quilts. Ik heb mij niet helemaal ‘tot op de letter’ (ha!) aan deze opdracht gehouden. In plaats van ‘officiële belettering’ te gebruiken heb ik zelf een letterblok getekend.

Voor op een quilt, waar traditioneel onder geslapen werd/wordt, vond ik de Z wel toepasselijk. Ik dacht aan het tekstballonnetje in strips bij slapers: ZZZZ. Met zijn rechte lijnen, is de Z natuurlijk gemakkelijk als patchwork te tekenen en te verwerken. Deze zigzagletter wilde ik nu eens niet keurig en recht verwerken, maar er wat lossers van maken.

Omdat mijn Z-blok gewoon vierkant is, moest ik daarvoor wat trucjes verzinnen. In de quilt hierboven heb ik mijn basisblok gecombineerd met ‘rommelige’ extra randjes. Daarna heb ik de blokken in verschillende maten en rechthoekige vormen in een Custom Set Quilt geplaatst, eentje zelfs in spiegelbeeld.

Bij het ‘willekeurig’ plaatsen van de blokken, heb ik er wel op gelet dat je de quilt toch gemakkelijk in elkaar kunt naaien. Meerdere blokken samen vormen delen met rechte, doorlopende naden. En alle delen kunnen gemakkelijk aan elkaar worden gezet tot de complete top.

In de quilt hieronder heb ik de blokken in gewone rechte rijen geplaatst. Aansluitende blokken heb ik aan de boven- en onderkant hetzelfde gekleurd, zodat de schuine lijnen van de Z de bloklijnen lijken te zijn. Verder heb ik scheve repen gebruikt in de randen.

In beide quilts heb ik, voor mijn doen, vrij veel zwart gebruikt. Dat heeft te maken met de strips-associatie, daarbij denk ik aan zwarte lijnen. Ik houd helemaal niet van zwart, maar ik vond dat deze ontwerpen het nodig hadden. Het contrast met zwart geeft wat pit.

Ik ben niet helemaal tevreden, de laatste vind ik nog steeds een beetje te recht, de eerste een beetje rommelig. Maar voor een eerste poging om uit een recht stramien te stappen, vond ik ze toch best toonbaar.

ZZZ Annika

16 juni 2012: Lees mijn post ‘How to Merge Blocks’ waarin ik vertel hoe ik sommige van de blokken in de bovenste quilt heb getekend in EQ7, met behulp van de Merge Blocks functie.

ENGLISH

ZZzzz Quilt

For the March Club EQ Challenge we had to use lettering in our quilts. I did not follow this theme quite to the letter (ha!). Instead of ‘official lettering’, I used a block with a letter that I made up myself.

I thought a Z would be appropriate for a quilt, which traditionally is used to sleep under. I was thinking of comics, with a text balloon with ZZZZ for sleepers. That capital, with its straight lines, is easy to draft and use for patchwork. I wanted to use this zigzag letter differently than with the usual neat lines and straight angles, but make it into something more loose.

Because my Z-block is a regular square block, I had to think of some ‘tricks’ to be able to do so. In the quilt at the complete top of the post, I combined my initial block with wonky pieced strips on the edges. After that I set them in a Custom Set Quilt, in different sizes and rectangular shapes, one even in mirror image.

When placing the blocks ‘randomly’, I made sure the quilt construction would still be easy. Clusters of blocks form sections, with straight, continuous seams, and all of the clusters can be easily pieced together to complete the top.

In the quilt above, I set the blocks in regular straight rows, but I colored the top and bottom patches of adjoining blocks the same. This way the diagonal lines of the Z appear to become the block edges. I also used ‘crooked’ strips in the borders.

In both quilts, I used a lot of black compared to my usual palette. It has to do with my comics-association, I thought of black outlines. I don’t like black, but I felt these designs needed it. The contrast with black adds some ‘punch’.

I am not completely satisfied, the last one still looks a bit straight to me, and the first one a bit messy. But for a first attempt to break away from straight rows of blocks, I think it’s good enough to show.

ZZZ Annika

June 16, 2012: Read my post ‘How to Merge Blocks’ in which I am showing how I drafted some of the merged blocks in the zZz quilt (top of the post), using the ‘Merge Blocks’ feature in EQ7.

8 comments on “Club EQ Challenge Designs March 2012

  1. Great quilt Annika, I, for one, would like to hear about the Serendipity merge with flying geese. Thanks for sharing Vicki from Australia

  2. Annika,
    Great and fun design! Your explaination also added a lot. Cute title for your quilt. Excellent job! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Annika, you followed EXACTLY “to the letter” for the challenge. No one said the letter(s) had to be a standard font. I love how you interpreted the theme! “Z” is for “sleeping” under the quilt! Right! Your pictures and notes here are most interesting, and enhance the challenge experience. I think it’s great for EQ users to see how you crossed from strictly traditional to art quilt here. There are frequent questions about “How do I make an art quilt in EQ?” One answer: get wonky! Thank you very much.

  4. I love hearing how you designed this. I think it’s really helpful to know not only what you were thinking, but how you did it.

    • Thank you Penny!

      I agree, and explaining with pictures would be more helpful.

      I thought about showing how I used the Serendipity Block Tool ‘Merge Blocks’ to create the blocks with the wonky flying geese strips. But my post was already long.

      I can still do a separate post on that.

      Annika

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

