LTL Entry 3 – Peels ‘n Wheels

Peels 'n Wheels met 15 inch blokken, dubbele ring met driehoekjes - Peels 'n Wheels with 15 inch blocks, double ring with triangles

Click here to go straight to English

Mijn derde inzending voor de Inklingo – EQ Quiltontwerpwedstrijd, Peels ‘n Wheels (hierboven), is een quiltontwerp dat ik zelf erg geslaagd vind. Ik vind het zelfs het beste ontwerp van al mijn zeven inzendingen.

Helaas was de jury het niet met mij eens, want deze quilt heeft niet eens de top 25 gehaald! (Drie van mijn andere inzendingen wel).

Ik heb hem bewust niet in stoffen ingekleurd, omdat dat op zo’n klein plaatje afbreuk zou doen aan het grafische karakter, dat dit ontwerp zo’n moderne, strakke uitstraling geeft. En door de kleurtjes heeft het ook weer iets retro’s, vind ik dan.

In dit ontwerp heb ik onderdelen uit verschillende Inklingo-collecties gecombineerd tot een volkomen nieuw blok. 

  +  
Het idee ontstond toen ik een serie mogelijke Inklingo Dresden Plate variaties aan het tekenen was voor de wedstrijd (en voor mijn My EQ Boutique blokken). Ik bedacht me ineens dat ik de cirkelsecties binnen de ringen met driehoekjes uit de Inklingo Dresden Plate Fancy Pieced collectie kon vervangen door elke willekeurige 8 inch cirkel.

In Inklingo is er, naast alle Dresden Plate variaties, nog een heel ander 8 inch cirkelvormig blok beschikbaar, nl. een cirkel van vier 4 inch Orange Peel units plus middendeel (zie het plaatje hierboven links).

De patroondelen zitten in de Inklingo Orange Peel Basic collectie en in de Orange Peel DeLuxe collectie.

Ik heb ze ingetekend in een 12 inch [ca. 30,5 cm.] blok met een enkele ring met driehoekjes, en een 15 inch [38,1 cm.] blok met een dubbele ring.

Schetsboek met blokken

Mmmm… niet erg opwindend, maar toch maar even in een quiltlayout geplakt.

Vier blokken bij elkaar vormen een afgerond vierkant in het midden

Toen zag ik hoe er een mooi secundair patroon ontstond van afgeronde vierkanten. De moeite waard om eens lekker met kleurtjes te gaan spelen. Toen ik de ‘sinaasappelparten’ en het nabijgelegen achtergronddeel dezelfde kleuren gaf, leken de ringen er in de voorgrond boven te zweven. En toen vond ik het ineens prachtig!

Het ziet er simpel uit, maar heeft toch veel effect. De blokken zijn 15 inch, en de totale quilt meet 79 x 109 inch [200,7 cm. x 276,9 cm.]. Het middendeel, zonder randen, is 62 x 92 inch [157,5 x 233,7 cm.]

Ik heb ook nog een variatie gemaakt met 12 inch blokken met een enkele ring van driehoekjes om de middencirkel. Dit ontwerp heb ik niet ingezonden voor de Love the Lines wedstrijd, maar hij is leuk genoeg om hier te laten zien (hieronder). Zonder de nadruk op de afgeronde vierkanten, en met wit in de kleuring, ziet deze versie er er veel traditioneler uit.

Welke vind jij het leukst?

XXX Annika

ENGLISH

Peels 'n Wheels variatie met 12 inch blokken - Peels 'n Wheels variation with 12 inch blocks

My third entry for the Inklingo – EQ Quilt Design Contest, Peels ‘n Wheels (top of the post), is a quilt design I quite like myself. I even think it is the best design of all my seven entries.

Unfortunately the jury did not agree with me, because this quilt did not even make it into the top 25! (Three of my other entries did).

I purposely did not color it with fabrics, because in a small picture it takes away from the graphic character which gives this design its modern, clean look. And with these colors it also has something retro about it, or at least I think so.

  +  

In this design I combined shapes from different Inklingo collections into one completely new block.

I got the idea when I was drafting a series of possible Inklingo Dresden Plate variations for the contest (and for my My EQ Boutique blocks). It occurred to me that I could replace the circular sections within the triangle rings from the Inklingo Dresden Plate Fancy Pieced Collection, by any 8 inch circle.

Apart from all the Dresden Plates variations, Inklingo shapes provide another, very different, 8 inch circular block; a circle made of four 4 inch Orange Peel units with center section (see the left hand picture above).

The shapes are in the Inklingo Orange Peel Basic collection and in the Orange Peel DeLuxe collection. I drafted them inside a 12 inch block with a single triangle ring, and in a 15 inch block with a double ring.

Sketchbook with blocks

Mmmm… not very exciting, but still, I stuck them in a quilt layout.

Four blocks together make a rounded square in the center

Then I saw a nice secondary pattern of rounded squares. Worth the trouble to start playing with color. When I colored the orange peels and the nearest background shape in the same colors, the rings appeared to hover in front of them. And then I suddenly loved it! It looks simple, but still has a great effect.

The blocks are 15 inch, and the total quilt measures 79 x 109 inches. The center part, without the borders, is 62 x 92 inches.

I also made a version with 12 inch blocks, with a single ring of triangles around the center circle (above). I did not enter that design for the Love the Lines contest, but it is nice enough to show here. Without the rounded squares and with white in the coloring, it looks more traditional.

Which one do you like best?

XXX Annika

4 comments on “LTL Entry 3 – Peels ‘n Wheels

  1. Annika, I don’t have the Inklingo orange peel collection(s) because the block has never been a super favorite of mine–until now! Now it goes on my list of future purchases ‘cuz I love what you’ve done with it in these designs. Thank you again for sharing your inspiring designs with us!
    ~Jillian in North Dakota

    • Thank you Jillian!

      I like your classification system of quilt blocks! :-)
      I am guessing it is something like: almost favorite, favorite, super favorite, and perhaps even super super favorite?

      I felt the same way about Dresden Plates, until I saw what Linda did with them in her Inklingo Dresden Plate Design Book!

      Hugs, Annika

  2. I find it very hard to choose just one of your designs. The more I examine each one, the more impressed I am! You are a wonderful designer.

    • Thank you Linda!

      I think you are an awesome designer yourself, and I don’t think I ever told you. Shame on me.

      I still have not recovered from all the recent great Double Wedding Ring designs on your blog and a giveaway! And now you have hit us with ANOTHER wonderful New York Beauty block…

      Oh my! I don’t know whether to thank you or curse you ;-)

      Love and Hugs, Annika

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

