Club EQ Challenge Designs August 2012

Concentrische Cirkels Stof Quilt

Click here to go straight to English

De opdracht voor de Club EQ Challenge van augustus 2012 was om in EQ zelf een blok te tekenen, en de afbeelding van dat blok als stof te gebruiken in je quiltontwerp. 

Ik vond het een heel inspirerend thema, en ben er op twee manieren mee aan de slag gegaan. Het resultaat van de eerste actie zie je in deze post, mijn quiltontwerpen voor de challenge. Ik wilde ‘stof’ met concentrische cirkels gebruiken om speciale effecten te creëren in ronde blokken, zoals kompassen.

Concentric Circles Fabric Quilt 3

De kompassen in het ontwerp zijn patchwork, maar in het echt zou je dit effect waarschijnlijk alleen kunnen bereiken als je de kompasdelen appliqueert op achtergrondstof met concentrische cirkels. Als je dergelijke stof hebt, kun je in EQ je blokpatronen gelukkig in elke gewenste maat printen om precies op de cirkels te passen.

Concentric Circles Fabric Quilt 1 – speciaal effect in de rand

Ik vond de stof zo leuk, dat ik ook nog een paar quilts heb ontworpen met alleen maar ‘effen’ blokken en randen in de stoffen, zonder patchwork of appliqué toe te voegen. Ik overweeg om dergelijke stof te laten printen via www.spoonflower.com, om eens echt zo’n rond patchwork- of appliquéblok met speciaal effect te maken.

Concentric Circles Fabric Quilt 2 – speciaal effect in de rand

En dan ben ik aangeland bij de tweede manier waarop ik met deze challenge aan de slag ben gegaan.

Het thema van Club EQ Goeroe Barb Vlack bracht mij op een idee om de ontwerpen uit mijn vorige post toch gemakkelijk te kunnen maken voor mijn vader, omdat hij ze zo mooi vond.

Ik heb dus twee ontwerpen met Arenden digitaal op stof laten drukken door Spoonflower, om te quilten en af te werken tot een miniquiltje. Ik heb de stof al binnen en ben op mijn naaimachine aan het quilten.

Dit ga ik vast vaker doen! Ideaal om toch snel eens wat met al die bewerkelijke quiltontwerpen van mij te kunnen doen. Ik vind (machinaal) quilten veel leuker dan naaien op de machine, en dit is natuurlijk een supergoedkope en snelle manier om een quiltje te maken.

Je hoeft maar 1 lapje stof te kopen, niets te meten, knippen, of naaien,  en ik kan gelijk van het ontwerpen door naar het quilten, mijn favoriete onderdelen van ‘quilt maken’.

Ik zit helaas even zonder camera, dus foto’s komen later. Het gaat wel even duren, want aan bloggen kom ik al een tijdje niet toe, en dat blijft nog even zo.  Maar wees gerust, ik vermaak me prima en creatief op andere manieren!

XXX Annika

ENGLISH

Concentric Circles Fabric Quilt 2 – special effect in the border

The assignment for the August 2012 Club EQ Challenge was to draw a block in EQ, and use a picture of this block as fabric in your quilt design.

I was very inspired by this theme in two ways. The result of the first way is shown in this post, my quilt designs for the challenge.

Western Compass with Concentric Circles fabric in compass points and outer ring

I wanted to use ‘fabric’ with concentric circles, to create special effects in circular blocks, like compasses. The compasses in the design are pieced, but in real life you could probably only achieve this effect by appliquéing the compass parts onto a background fabric with concentric circles. 

Mariner’s Star with Concentric Circles background fabric

If you have fabric like that, luckily EQ allows you to print your block patterns in any size, so you can fit them exactly on the circles.

I like this fabric so much, that I also designed some quilts with unpieced blocks and ‘plain’ borders in just these fabrics, without any additional patchwork or appliqué.

Concentric Circles Fabric Quilt 1 – special effect in the border

I am tempted to have fabric like this printed via www.spoonflower.com, to actually make a pieced or appliquéd block with a special effect like this. And that brings me to the second way I was inspired by do something with this challenge.

Club EQ Guru Barb Vlack‘s theme gave me the idea to make some of the designs in my previous post into actual quilts for my Dad, who like them so much. So I had two Eagle designs digitally printed on fabric by Spoonflower, to quilt and finish into a mini quilt. I already received the fabric and started quilting.

The fabric looks great, and I am having fun, so I plan on doing it more often. It is a perfect way for me to be able to do something with my elaborate quilt designs. I much prefer (machine) quilting to (machine) piecing, and this is a very cheap and quick way to make a small quilt. You only have to buy one piece of fabric, and nothing to measure, cut or sew, and I can get straight from designing to quilting, my favorite parts of quilt making.

Because I am temporarily without camera, I will show you pictures later. It may take a while, though, because I have not been able to blog much lately, and it looks like it will stay that way a while longer. But rest assured, that I am having fun and being creative in other ways!

XXX Annika

Concentric Circles Fabric Quilt 3

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

