Eagle Mini Quilt Finished

'Voor Arend' miniquilt

‘Voor Arend’, miniquilt – ‘For Eagle’, mini quilt

Click here to go straight to English

Ja, lieve mensen, aan het eind van 2012 heb ik dan toch nog net weer een quiltje afgekregen! Het is weer een miniquiltje voor mijn vader geworden, net zoals dit quiltje uit juni.

Dit ontwerp heb ik in juli gemaakt voor mijn vader, en hij vond het prachtig. Ik voelde me een beetje schuldig omdat ik niet van plan was de quilt te maken, en ik mijn vader niet graag teleurstel.

Dus ik heb er iets op bedacht. Ik wilde al lange tijd eens stof ontwerpen en digitaal laten drukken door Spoonflower. Dit leek me nu het perfecte project. Vanuit EQ7 heb ik de afbeelding geëxporteerd en ge-upload naar Spoonflower.com, en die 1x laten printen op een fat quarter katoenen satijn, en daar een klein (35 x 35 cm.) ‘cheater’ quiltje van gemaakt.

Mijn hand naast ongeveer een kwart van het quiltje geeft aan hoe klein het is.

Mijn hand naast ongeveer een kwart van het quiltje geeft aan hoe klein het is.

Ik heb alle lijnen van het ontwerp doorgestikt op de naaimachine met een loopvoetje, zoals je bij een patchworktop in de naad zou quilten. De quilt is klein genoeg om hem gemakkelijk te draaien, dus quilten in alle richtingen was geen probleem.

Dit project heb ik beschouwd als een ‘proeflap’, en ik had mezelf vooraf beloofd dat ik geen enkele steek zou uithalen! Dat heb ik dan ook niet gedaan, maar met die korte naadjes stik je zo te ver door! Er zitten dus vrij opvallende foutjes in het quiltwerk.

Ik kwam er ook achter dat het maar 1x printen van de top op stof wel lekker goedkoop is, maar dat je dan geen steken en garenkleuren kunt testen op de gekleurde stof.

Voor het quilten heb ik verschillende garens gebruikt die ik in huis had (allemaal van Superior Threads). Ik ben begonnen met ‘onzichtbaar’ MonoPoly garen, maar de heldere variant die ik heb, stak te glimmend af bij de donkere kleuren van de top. (Ondertussen heb ik de donkere kleur onzichtbaar garen ook maar in huis gehaald).

Daarna heb ik alle ‘naden’ doorgestikt met de dunne garens the Bottom Line, Masterpiece en Kimono Silk. In het spoeltje heb ik the Bottom Line in creme gebruikt. Ik vond het te veel gedoe om de onderdraad steeds hetzelfde te nemen als de bovendraad.

Het etiket doet dienst als ophangtunnel

Het etiket doet dienst als ophangtunnel

Maar bij het quilten om de rode driehoekjes heen kwam op de punten steeds de onderdraad naar boven. Ondanks extra steken voor het draaien en na het draaien kon ik dat niet voorkomen.

Totdat ik een ‘Little Genie Magic Bobbin Washer’ in mijn spoelhulsje deed! De onderdraad maakte geen lusjes meer. Echt ongelooflijk wat een verschil zo’n klein plastic rondje maakt! Ik hoefde ook geen extra steken meer te maken voor en na elke draai, dus het quilten ging vanaf toen een stuk sneller.

Na wat puzzelen op papier had ik een doorlopend pad gevonden rondom alle rode driehoekjes, zodat ik achter elkaar door kon stikken met dezelfde draad.

Het doorstikken rondom de Arenden heb ik tot het laatst bewaard. Met het zweet in mijn handen en een bonzend hart heb ik besloten ze met afstekend, dikker, glanzend garen met een kleurverloop (Rainbows garen) te quilten. Ook dat heb ik met het loopvoetje gedaan, en dus niet uit de vrije hand met de BSR.

Close up of center Eagle with quilting

Close up van de middelste Arend met de quiltlijnen

Ik heb een speciale, bijzonder hoogstaande techniek gebruikt om ook de vleugeluiteinden en klauwtjes netjes door te stikken: Draaien aan het handwiel om de naald op en neer te bewegen, en zo steekje voor steekje precies uitkienen waar de naald terechtkomt, met de tong uit de mond. (Dat laatste is uiteraard heel bepalend voor het eindresultaat).;-)

Nou, echt snel ging dit ‘snelle projectje’ op deze manier natuurlijk nog steeds niet, maar het is veelzeggend dat het wel helemaal af is. 

Op het etiket heb ik de betekenis van het ontwerp uitgelegd, met een plaatje van de quilt. (Ik hoop dat je het kunt lezen op de foto, klik er eventueel op voor een vergroting).

Etiket

Quilt Etiket

Het etiket heb ik zelf geprint op een katoenen EQ printable (Premium Cotton Lawn, Quilt-Weight Fabric). Daar heb ik al vaker mee gewerkt, en een nadeel van deze stof is dat het een beetje stijf is en scherp kreukt (ook na het uitspoelen).

Spoonflower stof is veel soepeler, zoals gewone stof. Ik heb de top gewassen voor ik hem sandwichte, en het quiltje heb ik ook nog eens gewassen. De kleuren bleven helemaal goed.

Ik vond het zeker voor herhaling vatbaar. Mijn favoriete onderdelen van quiltmaken zijn het ontwerpen en het quilten, en de rest vind ik eigenlijk helemaal niet leuk. (Stof aaien en kopen beschouw ik als een hobby op zich :-).)

Ik wacht nu met smart op de dag dat je bij Spoonflower je quilt-sandwich in elke gewenste grootte kunt laten bedrukken!

Gelukkig Nieuwjaar!

XXX Annika

ENGLISH

Yes, dear quilty folks, by the end of 2012 I have another small quilt finished! Another mini quilt for my Dad, just like this one from June.

I designed this in July for my Dad, and he loved it. I felt a bit guilty because I had no intention of making the quilt, and I hate disappointing my Dad. So I found a way.

I had been wanting to design fabric and have it printed digitally by Spoonflower. This seemed like the perfect project. So I exported the quilt image from EQ7 and uploaded it to Spoonflower.com, and had it printed 1x on a fat quarter of cotton sateen. I turned that into a small (13.8 x 13.8 inches) cheater quilt.

Mijn hand naast ongeveer een kwart van het quiltje geeft aan hoe klein het is.

My hand next to about a quarter of the quilt shows the small size.

I machine stitched over all the lines of the design, using a walking foot, like you would quilt a patchwork top in the ditch. The quilt is small enough to turn easily, so quilting in all directions was no problem. I considered this project a testing sample, and beforehand I promised myself I would not rip out a single stitch! So I didn’t, but with these very short lines, you easily take one stitch too many! So there are some visible quilting mistakes.

I discovered that printing the design only once on a small piece of fabric may be nice and cheap, but it leaves you with no chance to test your stitching and thread colors on the colored fabric.

For the quilting I used several different threads from my stash (all by Superior Threads). I started with ‘invisible’ MonoPoly thread, but the clear color I have was too shiny on the dark colors of the top. (By now, I have the darker color ‘Smoke’).

So from then on I stitched the ‘seams’ with the thin threads The Bottom Line, MasterPiece and Kimono Silk. In the bobbin I used The Bottom Line in cream. I thought it was too much fuss to match the bobbin to every different top thread.

But while quilting around the red triangles, the bobbin thread pulled up at each turn. I could not prevent the bobbin thread showing up, even with extra stitches before and after pivoting. Until I put a ‘Little Genie Magic Bobbin Washer’ in the bobbin case! No more bobbin thread on the front.

Amazing, the difference that small plastic ring makes! I did not have to take extra stitches anymore around each turn, so quilting went a lot quicker after that. After a little puzzling on paper I found a continuous path around all red triangles, allowing me to stitch a big chunk with only one thread.

Close up of center Eagle with quilting

Close up of center Eagle with quilting lines

The quilted outlines around the Eagles I saved till the very last. With sweaty palms and a beating heart I decided to stitch them with bright, shiny, thicker thread with color changes (Rainbows Thread). I did that with the walking foot as well, not free motioning with the BSR.

I used a very special, highly sophisticated technique to make sure the quilting around the tips of the wings and the claws would end up neat, too: Turning the handwheel to move the needle up and down, thus targeting the impact of the needle exactly, with tongue hanging out of mouth. (The latter is a determining factor for the end result, of course) ;-)

This way, this ‘quick project’ did not progress so quickly after all, but it says a lot that it is actually finished.

Het etiket doet dienst als ophangtunnel

The label doubles as a hanging sleeve

On the label I explained the design. It says:  

Mini quilt ‘for Arend’ [Arend means Eagle in Dutch, it is my Dad’s name).

Designed for my Dad, Arend de Weerdt, in the ‘Birds’ themed July 2012 Club EQ Challenge.

The blocks used are classic quilt blocks that are in the quilt design software EQ7 and have ‘bird’ in the block name:

  • I put ‘Birds in the Air’ blocks in a star layout.
  • In the corners are ‘Bird’s Nest’ blocks.
  • On the foreground are five Eagle motifs.

The star depicts the power of the Eagle, against a dark sky.

The total design symbolizes my father Arend [Eagle] and his five adult children, in whom Arend lives on.

Picture digitally printed on cotton sateen by spoonflower.com

Machine quilted with cotton, silk and polyester threads. Fabrics and batting cotton.

With lots of love for Daddy, Anneke de Weerdt [my real name], December 2012

I printed the label on an EQ printable (Premium Cotton Lawn, Quilt-Weight fabric). I have worked with these before, and a disadvantage of this fabric is that it is a bit stiff, and creases very sharply (also after rinsing or washing).

Spoonflower fabric is softer and drapes better, just like regular fabric. I washed the top before I made the quilt sandwich, and I washed the finished quilt again. The colors remained perfect.

I think I will make quilts like this more often. My favorite parts of quilt making are the designing and the quilting, and I don’t like the rest very much at all. (Patting and buying fabrics I consider a hobby in itself :-).)

So now I am eagerly awaiting the day one can order a printed quilt sandwich from Spoonflower!

Happy New Year!

XXX Annika

3 comments on “Eagle Mini Quilt Finished

  1. True…I thought about how easy it is to remove the label. Even so, I would still use it on a quilt that is not for show, but a gift for a family member or a friend. I think it is a clever solution.

  2. Loved reading about your process! I’ve wanted to try Spoonflower, but it always gets pushed back for other things. Maybe this will be the year that I try it! I love that you incorporated the label into the hanging sleeve! I may try that sometime too!

    • Hi Laura, Thank you for your response.

      It was quite a bit of text I wanted to put on the label. And when I saw how much of the quilt back would be covered by the label, I decided to make the font size smaller, and have the text run in a wide horizontal layout, so that I could use the label as a sleeve, and leave more of the back open for inspection by my mother and her quilting friends ;-)

      Of course using the sleeve as label (or vice versa) is not a very safe way to label your quilt. It can easily be cut off.
      Happy New Year!
      Annika

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

