Counting My Blessings – Poem inspired by Libby and my Dad

Libby Lehman in front of one of her quilts

Click here to go straight to English

Als lid van The Quilt Show hoorde ik over de zware beroerte van Libby Lehman. Het nieuws raakte mij op een bepaalde manier persoonlijk.

Ik had mezelf beloofd dat als ik eindelijk van mijn tennis/golferselleboog afben, ik bij haar op les zou gaan om het te vieren! Ik vind haar Threadplay namelijk fantastisch, en ze is mijn favoriete instructor bij The Quilt Show.

Ten tweede is mijn vader grotendeels verlamd door een zware beroerte. Libby’s toestand, die je kunt volgen via Caring Bridge, hield mij de afgelopen weken daarom nogal bezig.

The Quilt Show is bezig met een actie om geld in te zamelen voor therapie voor Libby. Die wordt namelijk maar voor een heel klein deel vergoed door haar ziektekostenverzekering. De rest moet de familie zelf betalen, en dat gaat, waarschijnlijk jarenlang, nog heel veel geld kosten.

Ricky Tims en Alex Anderson van de Quilt Show (zoek naar het tabje ‘Help Libby’) hebben allebei een quilt ter beschikking gesteld om te verloten, in ruil voor het zenden van een cheque aan Libby’s familie.

Graag wil ik ook mijn steentje bijdragen, en daarom heb ik gevraagd hoe wij ‘chequelozen’ vanuit het buitenland geld kunnen doneren. De familie van Libby heeft mij laten weten bezig te zijn met een PayPal-account, voor veilige donaties via je bank of met een credit card. Zodra ik hierover meer informatie heb, deel ik die met jullie.

Ondertussen kijk ik naar mijn vader, denk ik aan Libby, en tel ik mijn zegeningen. De gewoonste dagelijkse dingen kunnen zij niet doen. Ik mopper soms op rotklusjes, terwijl ze mij eigenlijk totaal geen moeite kosten.

Ik realiseer me nu weer heel goed hoe blij ik mag zijn dat ik genoeg geld kan verdienen om het te delen met mensen die het harder nodig hebben. Dat ik mijn kleren kan strijken, de vuilniszak wegbrengen, en mijn eigen bips kan afvegen :-).

Ik heb er een gedichtje over geschreven in het Engels, dat kunnen jullie hieronder lezen. Ik hoop dat het jullie inspireert om ook gul te zijn voor Libby, en in een moeite door misschien wel een prachtige quilt te winnen!

XXX Annika

ENGLISH

Counting My Blessings

I can wiggle my toes

I can wrinkle my nose

I can iron my clothes

Tuck my skirt in my hose

I only drool when I doze

Or watch X strike a pose

I can wipe my butt

I can strut my mutt

I can dance and dart

Tell the kids apart

I can twist and shout

Totally tire you out

I can hit the hay

At the break of day

I can kiss goodnight

I can read and write

I could take out the trash

Spend plastic and hoard cash

I can do as I please

I thank the Lord on my knees

And can get right up!

So thank you,

For my half full cup

—–

I heard about Libby Lehman‘s severe stroke through The Quilt Show, of which I am a member. In a way the news hit me personally.

I had promised myself to take a class from her in when I am finally rid of my tennis/golfers elbow, to celebrate! I think her Threadplay is stunning, and she is my favorite instructor on The Quilt Show.

Secondly, my Dad is left mostly paralyzed by a severe stroke. So Libby’s condition, which you can follow through Caring Bridge, has been on my mind for the past weeks.

The Quilt Show (find the tab ‘Help Libby’) has launched a fund raiser for Libby’s medical bills. The therapy she needs is only covered for a small part by her medical insurance. For the most part the family has to pay for the therapy, and that is going to cost a lot of money, probably for years to come.

Ricky Tims and Alex Anderson have both donated a quilt to raffle, in exchange for sending a cheque to Libby’s family.

I, too, would like to make a contribution, so I asked how us ‘cheque-less’ can donate money from abroad. The family has let me know they are setting up a PayPal account, for safe donations through the bank or with a credit card. As soon as I have more information on that, I will share it with you.

In the meantime I look at my Dad, I think about Libby, and count my blessings. The simplest of daily things, they just cannot do. I am sometimes complaining about small chores, while in fact they are no trouble at all for me.

Once again, I realize very well how lucky I am to be able to make my own money, enough that I can share with those who need it more. That I can iron my clothes, or take out the trash, and wipe my own butt :-).

I wrote a poem about it, that you can read above this post. I hope it will inspire you to be generous to Libby as well. And who knows, you may win a beautiful quilt while doing so!

XXX Annika

One comment on “Counting My Blessings – Poem inspired by Libby and my Dad

  1. Pingback: How to donate for Libby via PayPal | Stof genoeg

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

