Vintage Kimono Jacket, Good Pattern for Wearable Art

IMG_20150621_195636

Ik in mijn grijsgroene zijden kimonojasje – Me wearing my greyish green silk kimono jacket

Click here to go straight to English

Door mijn vorige post over kimono’s dacht ik er weer aan dat ik allang van plan was jullie het vintage Japanse kimonojasje (haori) te laten zien, dat ik heb gekocht in een Engelse webshop.

Het is handgemaakt, van een zware zijden chirimen crepe, gevoerd met een lichtere, gladde zijde. Als de voering bij de buitenkant past, zijn haori’s tweezijdig draagbaar, omdat de stiksels aan beide zijden onzichtbaar zijn.

Binnenkant van de haori

Binnenkant van de haori

Ik twijfelde eerst of ik dit jasje wel zou houden. Ik ben dol op Japanse stoffen, en ik moest het jasje gewoon kopen, want ik zag gelijk dat de kleuren en de print perfect waren voor mij. En omdat het vrijwel ‘one size fits all’ is, en ik van Japans formaat ben, paste het me natuurlijk.

Maar toen ik het aantrok merkte ik dat die lange, wijde mouwen het wel heel onpraktisch maken om te dragen op een dag dat je meer moet doen dan er elegant en exotisch uitzien. En helaas heb ik eigenlijk vooral dagen waarop ik van alles doe, behalve er elegant en exotisch bijlopen ;-).

Ik besloot het lot te laten beslissen. Als ik er geen riem bij kon vinden, ging hij terug. Dus toen ik in de eerste winkel waar ik ging riemshoppen gelijk de perfecte riem vond (Cora Kemperman, ze hebben ze nog), wist ik dat deze haori voor mij bedoeld was!

IMG_20150621_195128-01-01

En ik bedacht dat het haori-patroon heel geschikt is voor quilters die graag gequilte kleding maken. De rechte delen en grote wijde mouwen bieden veel ruimte om prachtige stoffen, quiltwerk, borduursels en andere versieringen de show te laten stelen.

Ik kon online geen gratis patroon voor een haori voor jullie vinden. Er worden wel (Engelstalige) patronen te koop aangeboden. Als ik er ooit eentje wil maken, dan trek ik gewoon mijn jasje over voor het patroon.

Dat kun jij natuurlijk ook doen. Koop zo’n mooie vintage haori bij bijv. Wafuku.co.uk of op eBay, en kijk hoe die je bevalt, voordat je begint aan het maken van je eigen gequilte versie.

XXX Annika

ENGLISH

IMG_20150621_195128-01-01

My previous post about kimonos reminded me that I had been meaning to show you the vintage Japanese kimono jacket (haori) that I bought online from the UK. It is handmade, of a heavy chirimen crepe silk, lined with a lighter, smooth silk. If the lining matches the outer fabric, haori jackets are reversible, because you can’t see any stitching on either side.

At first I doubted if I should keep this jacket. I love Japanese fabrics, and I could not resist buying this one, because I immediately saw that the colors and print were perfect for me. And, because they are sort of ‘one size fits all’, of course it fit me. (I am the last short Dutch person left ;-)).

But the long, wide sleeves make it very impractical to wear on a day that you have to do something more than just look elegant and exotic. And unfortunately, I mostly have days on which I do all kinds of stuff, except looking even remotely elegant or exotic ;-).

I decided to let fate decide; if I were unable to find a matching belt, it had to go. So when I found the perfect belt, in the first shop I went looking, I knew this haori was meant for me!

It occurred to me that the haori pattern is very suitable for quilters who like to make wearable art. The straight parts and the long flowing sleeves provide lots of space for showcasing gorgeous fabrics, quilting, embroidery or embellishments.

I was unable to find a free haori pattern online for you. There are commercial patterns available. If I ever wanted to make one, I would just trace mine for a pattern.

You can do that, too. Buy a vintage one on eBay or the like, and see how you like it, before you commit to sewing and quilting your wearable art.

XXX Annika

Binnenkant van de haori

Inside of the haori

3 comments on “Vintage Kimono Jacket, Good Pattern for Wearable Art

    • Hi Laura,
      Thank you for saying I deserve it! But perhaps the kimono jacket deserves better than me!
      I really have no idea how old ‘vintage’ is in this case. Should it be worn?
      I don’t even know how to clean it. I understand that Japanese take them apart and do something complicated that lasts for days, to clean them.
      ‘Fortunately’ there were small spots (grease?) in the silk, so I don’t feel too bad about wearing it. But I can tell you, it is difficult to visit the toilet and keep the sleeves clean! ;-)

      Hugs, Annika

      • Of course you should wear it! Wear it, and feel like a queen! :)

        I have no idea how to clean it. But I do know that you are more valuable than any vintage object. There is no price for the value of a fellow human being!

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

