Week 3 of 2015 EQ Seasons Row-A-Long, with more Prizes!

And, we are at week 3 of the EQ Seasons Row-A-Long. If you don’t know what this is about, read my posts for week 1 and week 2!

 photo EQ Seasons RAL Button_zpsyolsgram.png

Find today’s schedule with direct links to each featured blogger at the end of this post, and make sure to visit them all, for free pdf patterns, EQ tutorials and great giveaways on every blog! Read all about the prizes and the rules here.

My Separating Row Design

This week’s filler row on Stof Genoeg has curved lines, but only straight piecing! It is very quick and easy to make!

My filler row for Fall, symbolizing the hood of a mushroom.

My filler row for Fall, symbolizing the hood of a mushroom.

My notes on this design: Half Drop Polkadot Row – 4 inches high. I designed this to be made as one entire row (not separate square blocks, as the picture from EQ is showing), with 2 inch half circles floating on top.

The partial circles are cut from felt, with only a seam allowance added to the straight edges. They are stitched between the red and brown background strips. It symbolizes the hood of a mushroom, for Fall.

I drafted this block myself, especially for this EQ Seasons Row-A-Long.

My pattern

Download the FREE pdf pattern (3 pages), with fabric yardage requirements, templates and sewing instructions here: Annika Kornelis 201505 Instructions Half Drop Polkadot Row – EQ Seasons RAL

My EQ7 Project File

You can download my project file (40.6 KB), with all 5 filler rows, through this link from Box.com. You will have to wait for the following weeks for the two remaining patterns that belong with this EQ project file.

Note: You can only open the file if you have EQ7 software. You don’t need the EQ file for participating in the Row-A-Long. It is simply a bonus for those who have EQ7 and would like to play with the designs, like change the colorings and combine several rows from different designers in one quilt layout.

My EQ7 tutorial: Searching for Notecard Information

My two previous EQ tutorials were on Notecards. Last week I showed you how to limit or expand your results from a Block Notecard search, by selecting specific Block Notecard fields to search.

This week I will show you how to come up with more search results in another way: By changing the number of Search results EQ comes up with. The default number of results for a Notecard search is 50. You can change this up to 999! I am showing you how I did this in a screen recording.

I recommend you watch this video on full screen, so you will be able to read the text. The video (57 seconds) has no sound, so I will talk you through what I am doing right here. The first steps are practically the same as in the previous tutorial, so this may look familiar to you.

I will post the video again at the end of the tutorial, so you don’t have to scroll up to watch it again, if you missed something.

 

I click the Libraries Tab at the top of my screen. → A window opens with the names of all EQ Libraries.

I hover over ‘Block Library…’ with my mouse, until it turns blue. Then I click to select Block Library → The Block Libraries overview opens.

At the bottom of this box, you see two rows of buttons. The upper row contains the ‘Search’ button. It has two arrows on the right side, meaning more options will appear when you click this button.

I click the ‘Search’ button → Two more buttons appear: ‘By Notecard’ and ‘By Category’.

I hover my mouse over ‘By Notecard’→ it turns blue. I click to select this option → The ‘Search Block Notecard’ box appears.

It reads ‘Find all blocks with this notecard text’, with a textbox underneath. It has ‘Inklingo’ written in it.

By default, all three checkboxes are ticked, in front of the ‘Search the Name field’, ‘Search the Reference field’ and ‘Search the Notes field’.

Below that, it says ‘Find at most’ with a box behind it. In the box is the number ’50’. This is the default number.

I click the box and drag to select ’50’ → 50 turns blue.

I type directly over the selected ’50’ in the box: ‘999’. This is the maximum number of search results.

I click the ‘Search’ button → An hourglass icon appears, indicating EQ is searching the block libraries for my information.

When EQ has finished searching, a small notification pops up, saying. ‘Result of search for “inklingo”: 164 items’.

I click the OK button → The Block Libraries open the ‘Search Results’ tab.

I browse through the search results, by clicking the little triangle next to the slider bar underneath the block overview. I am showing you all 164 blocks :-).

At the end of the overview, I close the Block Libraries, by clicking the ‘Close’ button.

End of screen recording.

Additional information:

If you want to use my tutorial for practicing on your own computer, you can copy the text above and paste it into a Word document. This way, you can print it and have it next to your screen.

I could not resist showing you all of the Inklingo blocks that EQ came up with :-). Many of these, I have drafted myself. Others are from free EQ7 project files I downloaded here from Linda Franz’ All About Inklingo Blog.

The project that is on the Quilt Worktable at the start of my video, is one of my Log Star Quilt Designs. I published the free pattern for the block, including piecing instructions, as my 2014 Christmas present here on Stof Genoeg. You can find it on my downloads page.

Below, you can watch the 57 second video again:

In next weeks EQ Tutorial, I will show you a bit more about editing Notecard information. See you then!

The giveaways (‘sweepstakes’ by law)

Remember, there are giveaways on the other participating blogs, too! Make sure to visit them all. Some of the giveaways are specific to one blog running for one week, some of the giveaways are for all participating designer blogs in the same week.

Here are my two giveaways for this week:

Another 20 US Dollar shopping voucher from www.Inklingo.com. Just like last week! Despite being extremely busy, Inklingo’s Linda Franz is one of the participating designers, and she is sponsoring this EQ Seasons RAL, too. So, thank you Linda! :-)

This giveaway is specific to my blog Stof Genoeg. Everyone who enters once correctly through the link on the picture of Monkey below, will be entered into a drawing for this gift. The winner will be picked automatically by Rafflecopter. This will be the same for all giveaways on all participating blogs.

I am asking you to answer a simple question in the giveaway box, that will open if you click the picture of Monkey, showing some national pride. :-). The correct answer is short, to make it as easy as possible for you to enter in the giveaway. You don’t need to comment on my blog, follow me, download my pattern, or anything. And there are no trick questions either.

This week’s question is: “Is Monkey from Canada?” (Source: I swiped this picture from a 2010 post by Linda about how Monkey celebrates Canada day ;-))

Click on the picture of Monkey to enter this week's Inklingo giveaway.

Click on the picture of Monkey to enter this week’s Inklingo giveaway.

A bundle of Northcott Fabrics. As I said before, like many other sponsors, Northcott Fabrics have also been incredibly generous. They have given fabric to all participating designers, to help them create the Season rows. And they are giving away one bundle of 6-8 yards of fabric (in 1 yard lengths) for each week of the Row-A-Long. All entrants from all participating blogs in this week will be entered in a draw together.

You can only enter once this week for this giveaway, so if you are entering through my blog, do not enter through one of the others as well (or vice versa), or you will be disqualified!

You can enter for both giveaways from 15 – 22 September. Winners will be announced here and on www.seamstobesew.com within 48 hours, and they will be contacted personally.

Click the logo to enter in the Northcott fabric giveaway

Click the logo to enter in the Northcott fabric giveaway

Craftsy and Nancy’s Notions Giveaways:

There is another giveaway, running until 13 October, 2015, for those who sew along. You can win Craftsy classes and Nancy’s notions gift certificates.

For entering, stitch out a block from any of the full size Seasons rows. The smaller Filler Rows (by Bea from Be A Quilter, Linda from the All About Inklingo Blog or by me here on Stof Genoeg) are excluded.

You need to upload a picture of your block to the Flickr Group prior to entering. You may enter this giveaway every day from September 01, 2015 to October 13, 2015 (Once for each unique block you have stitched and uploaded a picture for). After uploading your picture, go back to any of the blogs with the link (not mine) to the giveaway, and enter. All entries will be double checked for compliance to the rules. Find the EQ Seasons Flickr group here.

You will be entered in a draw for the following prizes:

  • Craftsy: 1 class of your choice – 3 total classes Average Value $40.00 each
  • Nancy’s Notions: 1 $10.00 of gift certificate – 2 total certificates Total Value $20.00.

By entering any of these giveaways, it is assumed that you agree with the rules and guidelines, stated both here and in the giveaway box.

All that is left now for me to do, is give you the schedule of the other bloggers of today:

September 15, 2015

Reeze Hanson at Morning Glory Designs – Summer
Marian Pena at Seams To Be Sew – Winter
Jennifer Ofenstein at Sew Hooked – Spring
Carol Swift at Just Let Me Quilt – Fall

For those of you with a Facebook account, there is also a Facebook support group.

See you next week, and good luck in the giveaways!

XXX Annika

17 comments on “Week 3 of 2015 EQ Seasons Row-A-Long, with more Prizes!

  1. Pingback: EQ Seasons – Week 3.. Welcome |

  2. Pingback: 2015 EQ Seasons Row-A-Long Show and Tell! | Stof genoeg

  3. Pingback: Week 5 of 2015 EQ Seasons Row-A-Long, Final Giveaway! | Stof genoeg

  4. This is one of my favorite filler rows Anneke, I think the notecard lessons are also very good, people under value how important the notecards are to EQ and it’s great to see such an extensive use of them. :)

    • Hi Joan,
      Oh dear… I am glad you were still able to comment. Who knows how many people have not yet recovered from their cardiac arrest upon viewing my filler row? ;-)
      Annika

  5. There are so many things one can do with this program. Thanks so much for showing this tutorial and also for your row.

    • Thank you!
      Yes, EQ is great. Even if you just want to print patterns in any size you like, or just color blocks, it is a great buy. And it sort of grows with you, if you learn to do more complicated things, up to really advanced. One lucky winner on 29 September (on the EQ blog), can look forward to years of fun!!
      Annika

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

