Drafting A Clamshell Four Patch Bonus Block in EQ7

Clamshell four patch with half Clamshells from the Clamshell Edges 4 inch Inklingo Shape collection, combined with the bonus shape from the Clamshell Rose Inklingo shape collection

9 inch [22.9 cm.] blocks: Clamshell four patch with half Clamshells from the Clamshell Edges 4 inch Inklingo Shape collection, combined with the bonus shape from the Clamshell Rose Inklingo shape collection – 9 inch / 22,9 cm. Clamshell four patch met halve clamshells (uit de Clamshell Edges 4 inch Inklingo collectie patroondelen) en de bonus shape uit de Clamshell Rose Inklingo collectie patroondelen. Original design by Annika Kornelis.

Click here to go straight to English

Bovenstaande quilt met 9 inch [22,9 cm.] blokken had ik al in EQ7 ontworpen, toen ik besloot dat ik jullie ook met een video wilde laten zien hoe je dit blok in EQ kunt tekenen. Maar ik kon me toch niet meer herinneren hoe ik het had gedaan!

Dat was dus even weer uitzoeken :-). Maar het is gelukt, zoals de video hieronder laat zien. Deze video is beter dan de video’s in mijn vorige post.

Ik heb het tekenen eerst een paar keer geoefend, en ik gebruik hulplijnen die het voor jullie gemakkelijk maken om dit na te tekenen.

Er is geen geluid bij. Aan het begin van de video loop ik met de cursor even langs de gebruikte instellingen. Als ik de Snap Settings wijzig, geef ik dat ook even aan.

Nog een tip voor het werken met de Curve Tool: Als je gebogen tekenlijn de verkeerde kant op loopt, druk je even op de spatiebalk op je toetsenbord, terwijl je je cursor vasthoudt. Dan buigt je lijn de andere kant op.

Als je deze quilt of het blok wilt naaien, heb je de Inklingo Clamshell Rose collectie nodig, en de Inklingo Clamshell Edges 4 inch collectie. Alle Clamshell collecties vind je hier op inklingo.com.

Veel plezier ermee!

XXX Annika

ENGLISH

I had already designed the quilt at the top of this post in EQ7, when I decided I wanted to show you in a video how to draft the block in EQ. But I could not remember how I did it!

So it took me quite a while to refigure this out :-). But, I managed, as the video below shows. This video is better than the videos in my previous post.

First, I practiced drafting a couple of times, and I am using guide lines that make it easier for you to draft this after the example in the video.

There is no audio. At the beginning of the video, I am pointing the cursor at the settings I used. I also indicate clearly where I change my snap settings.

And a tip for working with the Curve Tool: If your line curves in the wrong direction, just press the space bar on your keyboard while holding the cursor. It makes your line curve the other way around.

If you want to piece this quilt or the block, you will need the Inklingo Clamshell Rose shape collection, and the Inklingo Clamshell Edges 4 inch shape collection. You will find all Clamshell shape collections here on inklingo.com. Enjoy!

XXX Annika

8 comments on “Drafting A Clamshell Four Patch Bonus Block in EQ7

  1. Thank you!! I’m nowhere near as proficient in EQ as you, so this video really helped! I love using EQ to play with design and colour ideas, so this is a fabulous video to be able to refer to. Love the look with the half clamshells!

  2. Oh, never thought about using the half clamshells…..Looks great. *Must* learn this program better……

    • Hi Marianne,

      I hope you find this helpful. Often, while playing in EQ, the possibilities of EQ give me ideas for block variations that I wouldn’t have thought of otherwise.

      It really isn’t that I am some sort of creative visionary (which some people seem to think) it just happens while I play. Another line here, another line there…

      So, keep playing in EQ, and the learning will happen as a bonus.

      Hugs, Annika

      ________________________________

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

