Drawing Inklingo Star in EQ7 – Video

Inklingo Star Block - designed by Linda Franz of www.inklingo.com

Inklingo Star Block – designed by Linda Franz of http://www.inklingo.com

A very pretty Inklingo block is a design by Linda Franz, which she named Morse Star. It is based on another beautiful star block design of hers, Inklingo Star. It is a 9 inch block, which uses the free Inklingo shape collection for the 4.5 inch LeMoyne Star in the center. Both date from 2014. Ever since, I have been meaning to show you how I drafted Morse Star in EQ7.

Morse Star Block - block design by Linda Franz of www.inklingo.com

Morse Star Block – block design by Linda Franz of http://www.inklingo.com

There already is a great tutorial by Erin, but I did it a bit differently. Since there are usually several ways to do something in EQ, I thought I would show you my way, too. Erin’s starts using Linda’s EQ7 file as a basis. You can do that, too, and skip my tutorial altogether :-).

Purely for educational purposes, I am starting with drafting Inklingo Star from scratch. It shows both ways of drafting an eight-pointed LeMoyne star in EQ’s EasyDraw. (You can also draw eight-pointed stars in Pieced PatchDraw in EQ).

For beginners, an eight-pointed star is a bit tricky to draft on a square grid, since it is actually based on a circle. You can draw it on a regular square grid, if you know what particular grid to use, which is 24 x 24.

Tip! Remember the ratio between the squares and the triangles, so you can always draft an eight pointed star.

Tip! Remember the ratio between the squares and the triangles, so you can always draft an eight pointed star.

Now, it does not matter what size you want your final block to be, you start with a 24 by 24 grid. To make that easier, we start with a 12 inch block on the drawing board, instead of a 9 inch block, which is the actual size of Linda’s Inklingo Star. 

Remember, once you have drawn a block in EQ, you can resize it to any size you want. In the video below, I will start by showing you the drawing of a grid based LeMoyne Star in EQ.

Next, I will show you the second way, and draft an additional eight-pointed star, based on a circle.

I hope the video shows you clearly why I did that. The easy thing to do would be to copy the first star, resize it to 50% (because I know the inner star is 4.5 inches in a 9 inch block), rotate it 27.5 degrees, and set it in the center of the first star.

Unfortunately, you can only rotate blocks in EQ by whole degrees. I do that in the video, and it clearly shows that a 27 (or 28) degree rotation just does not do the trick!

So, I am drawing the inner 4.5 inch star, starting with two circles, which I use as my guide for drawing the star points. This way, I can easily put the outside points of the star at any orientation in the block.

I eyeball the placement of the circles, and after drawing them I check the placement by using the guidelines of the star that have the wrong orientation, because I know the size is correct. If I placed my circles correctly, the tips of the star points should touch my outer circle, and the lowest points of the ‘V’s between star points should touch the inner circle.

Design for a Spring Quilt with Inklingo Stars alternated with a non-Inklingo block. Original quilt design by Annika Kornelis

Design for a Spring Quilt with Inklingo Stars alternated with a non-Inklingo block. Original quilt design by Annika Kornelis

If I just started by drawing a 4.5 inch diameter circle in the center of the block, my star would be too small! Once that inner star is drawn correctly, the circle lines are deleted.

In the video, you can see me change snap settings half way. I increase them to 48, because I need additional snaps for correct placement of my circles. You can always change snap settings half way during drawing. 

But, remember, too many snap points increase your chances of your lines not connecting correctly. You see that happen in the video. That is why I decrease the number of snaps back to 24, after I have drawn the circles for which I needed 4 snaps to each inch. I hope this is enough explanation with what’s happening in the video.

The video is 6.5 minutes, and has no sound. I recommend you watch it full screen, so you can read my settings etc. If you have questions, let me know, and I will answer them!

Now that our Inklingo Star is drafted and saved in EQ, we use it as a basis to draw the more complicated Morse Star in EQ. I will show you that in a follow up post!

XXX Annika

5 comments on “Drawing Inklingo Star in EQ7 – Video

  1. Pingback: Drawing a Morse Star Block in EQ – Video | Stof genoeg

    • Hi Laura!

      Thank you! That is very encouraging to hear. I hope I will be able to post the follow up tutorial tomorrow.

      Hugs, Annika

  2. Wonderful!
    Thank you for showing how you do it. I would never have figured that out.
    Just curious, why did you rotate by 27 degrees instead of 45?

    • Thank you Linda. I did try rotating my star 45 degrees the first time. But you might as well rotate it 360 degrees :-). I made a short screen recording of what happened when I rotated a star 45 degrees. https://youtu.be/9vaSIfIarvs It will not put your star points north, east, west and south.

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

