Playing with Simple Blocks in EQ – Part 2

Weave and Knots Quilt – original design by Annika Kornelis

In the picture above, can you see which square block I added to the striped block I played with in my previous post?re It is this one:

Fan variation block – drafted by me

I drafted this block myself, like the previous two blocks. The EQ block libraries have similar blocks, but I wanted a specific look, and I find it quicker to just draw it myself instead of browsing the libraries, trying to find exactly what I need. This block here is a simpler version of the ‘Rainbow fan’ block in EQ.

I am not sure how this ‘rainbow fan’ block was constructed, and I am not worried about it either when I am playing in EQ! I guess you could piece it or applique it, whatever your preference.

Modern Vine Strip Quilt – original design by Annika Kornelis

Quickly after I started combining the striped block with the curved block, I discovered something was missing. I wanted a block that would connect the curves with the stripes.
So I edited the fan block, adding six lines in the background.

Connecting Fan Variation block – original design by Annika Kornelis

These six simple lines added a lot of possibilities! Suddenly, I could make continuous lines flowing in many directions. You can see the difference when you compare the Modern Vine quilt below with the one above.

Modern Vine Strip quilt, continous  – original design by Annika Kornelis

Now, I wanted to explore the possibilities of just the Fan block with the Connecting Fan block, without the straight stripes.

Circles and Waves Medallion Quilt 1 – original design by Annika Kornelis

In just red and white, I created several medallion style quilts by setting my two chosen blocks in an on point setting.

Circles and Waves Medallion quilt 2 – original design by Annika Kornelis

This last one uses the same blocks on point, but is not a medallion quilt. I made many variations of these asymmetrical continuous wavy ribbons, but I think I like this one best.

Wavy Ribbons – original quilt design by Annika Kornelis

And, when I added the stripes again, I found these three blocks make very nice medallion style quilts in a straight set, too!

Stripes and Curved Medallion quilt – original design by Annika Kornelis

I just can’t stop playing with these! They are so versatile, and I have a need to explore every option. So, I have lots more to show you!

XXX Annika

3 comments on “Playing with Simple Blocks in EQ – Part 2

  1. Pingback: Playing with Simple Blocks in EQ – Part 3 | Stof genoeg

    • Sorry Laura,

      I am a bit behind with responding to my comments. But again, thank you for taking the time to respond. I will be pretending to be blogging this week, there are two more posts scheduled :-) But I will actually be vacationing in Paris (France), without my laptop, and perhaps even without an internet connection.

      So, don’t expect any replies from me after today, until Saturday!

      Hugs, Annika

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

