Playing with Simple Blocks in EQ – Part 3

Simple striped medallion quilt, outward curves – original design by Annika Kornelis

Yes, we are going to continue playing with the same blocks from the previous two posts! This post is going to show how one design leads to another in my EQ Sketchbook.

The quilt picture above shows a combination of three blocks, the Stripes, the Log Cabin and the connecting Fan variation block. I really like this clean medallion style, leaving lots of room for quilting or perhaps redwork embroidery in the centre.

Simple striped medallion quilt, inward curves – original design by Annika Kornelis

This picture shows the same idea, in a different coloring, with the curves going inward instead of outward. My next design builds on that idea.

Black and White Stripes and Curves quilt – original design by Annika Kornelis

This is a different set of three blocks, compared to the two quilts above. I replaced the log cabin blocks in the corners by curves.

Next, I connected the inward curves of the outer border with stripes, and added curls to the inward curves of the inner border. Now it is no longer a medallion quilt.

I decided to fill the white spaces with some more curves, and added a bit of color in the background, to separate the white stripes from the background in this busier design. I think it really creates a sense of depth.

Black and White Stripes and Curves Quilt 2 – original design by Annika Kornelis

In the next design I changed the center and the coloring. I reversed the coloring of the curved blocks inside the ‘squares’, and colored the outside lines red.

Black, White and Red Stripes and Curves Quilt – original design by Annika Kornelis

So, I have returned to using red, the color I started with. But if you compare the first design with the last, would you have guessed this one evolved from the first?

I am still far from finished with playing with these blocks. In the next post, I will show you a design with the four blocks from this post combined.

Very versatile set of four blocks!

It is a quilt I designed for Canada’s 150th anniversary. I think you can guess the colors ;-). But I think the way I used these blocks will be a surprise to you… (Are you excited yet?)

XXX Annika

2 comments on “Playing with Simple Blocks in EQ – Part 3

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!

