Les Fruits de Mer Willyne Hammerstein Quilt Design – EQ project

Les Fruits De Mer Block – fussy cut in EQ with digital fabrics from the EQ fabric libraries

I wanted some fun and color, so decided to try and draft one of Willyne Hammerstein’s recent Inklingoable designs in EQ, to play with it. Les Fruits de Mer is one of the few Millefiori patterns that can be drafted as a square block, so it is suitable for EQ.

I don’t have the Millefiori 4 book with the pattern for the quilt. So I just picked an existing block from the EQ block libraries that gave me a start for drafting a block that looked close enough. I am sharing the project file with you (link for downloading below). If you have EQ8 quilt design software, you can use it to color the quilts with the digital fabrics of your choice. NOTE: The block size in the project file is random, just to play nicely with the fabrics of my choice!

If you are going to make the quilt from the Millefiori book, probably using Inklingo shapes, you can’t pick a random block size!

Playing with this project can be good practice using the Fussy Cut fabric tool and the Rotate fabric tool. Even though I drafted the quilts a bit smaller (less blocks) than the original, I got fed up with rotating and fussy cutting after some time. So, if you like the blue quilt, you can finish fussy cutting for yourself :-).

Fruits de Mer Quilt Small – Pattern from the Millefiori 4 book by Willyne Hammerstein – Drafted in EQ and colored by Annika Kornelis

Fruits de Mer Quilt Block close up

Fruits de Mer Quilt – Horizontal Set – Variation on the design by Willyne Hammerstein, pattern in the Millefiori 4 quilt book – Drafted in EQ and colored by Annika Kornelis

You can see the blocks in more detail if you download the project and open it in EQ8. It will not open in previous versions of EQ. You can download the project here.

Have fun and stay healthy and safe!

XXX Annika

6 comments on “Les Fruits de Mer Willyne Hammerstein Quilt Design – EQ project

    • Thank you Mary! I am glad I was able to do that 🙂
      I just picked some fun fabrics from the EQ Libraries and watched what happened!

      Stay healthy and safe!
      Annika
      ________________________________

    • Thank you Laura,

      I was glad I was finally able to play with one of the Millefiori patterns in EQ! I have been working from home since Thursday 12 March and have only been outside twice ever since, to prevent catching or spreading the new virus. And still, I don’t see myself getting around to do some actual quilting!! Aaargh.

      It’s a good thing Rene and I are getting along very well. We are not likely to get bored, with all the books and games and crafty stuff we have. And of course, lots of excellent chocolate!

      Hugs, Annika ________________________________

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!