New: Night And Day Inklingo Shape Collection

Inklingo (Linda Franz) has issued a new Inklingo Shape collection for another one of Willyne Hammerstein’s fabulous Millefiori quilts! It’s Night And Day, from the book Millefiori Quilts 5.

Carrot And Rettich By Moonlight, my color variation of Willyne Hammerstein’s Night And Day Quilt.

I was very excited when I saw this collection this morning, because it is one I can play with in EQ! Most of Willyne Hammerstein’s designs are tessellations on a non-square grid. And that is very difficult to recreate in EQ.

Screen caption of EQ8 after I found the perfect number of snaps to match the lines in the image to trace :-).

So, in EQ I imported an image from the Shape Collection of the page with shapes without seam allowances on my Drawing Worktable. I cropped it to a square that would repeat to recreate an image of the original tessellating design. After fiddling around a bit with the number of snaps, I was able to trace the image to draft a usable block for design purposes.

It isn’t actually accurate, because it has seam lines around the edges where I only drafted half shapes to get a square block. But, it’s good enough to create a color variation quilt design with a very different effect than Willyne Hammerstein’s fussy cut original quilt. Instead of four pointed stars, I created carrots and rettich by moonlight! :-)

The border is just an ‘instant’ diamonds border from EQ that I thought looked good. I was too lazy to calculate for something precisely Inklingoable.

I hope this inspires you to see even more fabulous possibilities with this new shape collection (and your Millefiori Quilts 5 book). You can get the Inklingo shapes for a special reduced introduction price until Sunday February 25 Midnight!

XXX Annika

4 comments on “New: Night And Day Inklingo Shape Collection

  1. Hi Annika! I love that you have been able to draw this in Electric Quilt software! Seeing what you did (very clever) will help me plan my own quilt. Thank you!

    • Glad to be of help :-) I said it before on my blog: There is often no need to be very clever, or a math wizard to draft specific (square) blocks in EQ. Just check if one or both of these basic simple tricks can be used for drawing a block: Trace an image of the block, or adapt a suitable existing block from the EQ Libraries!

    • With Inklingo no waste fussy cutting -https://www.inklingo.com/modified-no-waste-fussy-cutting/ – one could easily incorporate that as well! Piecing is exactly the same. It just takes a little more time selecting a suitable fabric, placing the freezer paper in the right spot and keeping the matching patches organized.

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!