Happy Easter!

Diamond Stars and Rainbows Quilt – original design by Annika Kornelis. In this design I tried to evoke spring meadows with fields of tulips underneath the rainbows. The easter bunny has probably hidden some chocolate eggs in the grass or among the tulips! :-)

I have been trying to design joyful quilts, to cheer you up during these scary, difficult times. I hope you are healthy and able to take good care of yourself.

We are still healthy, and have both been working from home for a couple of weeks now. We live in a small one bedroom flat, and our country is in what the government calls ‘intelligent lockdown’. I am staying indoors as much as possible. I think my designs from past weeks reflect that currently there is too much going on in a small space! LOL!

I chose rainbows, to symbolize hope, and stars for guidance and eternity, as the elements for the designs. I drafted blocks which have both, in EQ8. I am not entirely happy with these designs, but I am realistic: this is the best I can do under the circumstances.

Today, Good Friday, I had a resting day (no work until Tuesday!!), and we went for a long walk on a glorious day. After that, designing went much better. The air literally appeared in my quilts!

Easter Stars Quilt – original design by Annika Kornelis

I tried a different star in my block, and ditched the busy rainbow color palette. I opted for lots of white and not too much contrast.

In case you want to skip Easter altogether and go back to last Christmas, before this pandemic started:

Winter version of Easter Star quilt. Blocks on point and different coloring. Original quilt design by Annika Kornelis

Stay home, stay safe!

XXX Annika

 

5 comments on “Happy Easter!

  1. Pingback: Different Easter Chocolate! | Stof Genoeg

    • Thank you Laura! I have more pictures of designs I am not so happy with 😉. Maybe I will show them too, some day!

      ________________________________

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!