EU can now also download EQ + add-ons!

Maybe this title is a little too cryptic for you? Read on!

Original quilt design by Annika Kornelis, using Inklingo Dresden Plate Variation blocks. These blocks are available as Inklingo downloads for printing shapes on fabric in fixed sizes, and as EQ add-on blocks to play with in EQ.

I received the wonderful news that people in the EU can now also buy downloads from the Electric Quilt Company! This has not been possible for many years, because of tax rules. Let’s all say thank you and give a big applause for the lovely Diane from EQ, who worked very very hard to make this possible!

This means, that if you are in the EU (UK is still pending), you can now download my EQ Add-on with Inklingo Dresden Plate Variations! Yay! And… you get 25% off through November 2023 with the code NOVEMBER at checkout.

I published this collection of blocks 11 years ago when EQ still had ‘My EQ Boutique’. My EQ Boutique blocks at that time were downloadable as complete collections, but also as single blocks! They worked as stand alone software, so EQ was not necessary. And they came with sewing instructions. A lot has changed since then.

My EQ Boutique Blocks are now only available as regular EQ add-on block collections, under the header Boutique Blocks. They work with EQ7, EQ8 and EQStitch, and some (including mine) also work with EQ Mini.

The EQ site says my collection consists of the 12 blocks pictured here (above). It is in fact much more because you can make each block in at least 5 different ways, by swapping out center circles and, and using no outer ring, one or two outer rings with triangles in several variations! In this post from 2012, I explain this with pictures.

You can make some really spectacular quilts with these blocks. I am showing you some examples I designed in 2012 at the end of the post.

Why would I buy this if I am an Inklingoist? Great question!

I am a 100% Inklingo believer, and still took the trouble to draw these complicated blocks in EQ. (In fact, I drew many more!). I do that because for me, EQ and Inklingo is the perfect combination.

You don’t need EQ to use Inklingo shapes. Linda Franz has even provided a perfect design book for Dresden Plates. But I like testing out block combinations, auditioning fabric choices and color variations etc. for my Inklingo ideas in EQ.

And by offering these blocks as EQ add-ons I made all of that easier for you, too. Inklingo’s Linda Franz has provided many, many more block variations. They do not all fit in an EQ add-on. If you have the EQ add-on, and have your heart set on Inklingoing a different Dresden Plate Variation, you can easily create most of these variations in EQ by adding or deleting lines in the blocks. That’s much easier than starting to draw from scratch.

So, I hope you will be inspired to consider making a Dresden Plates variation quilt, with or without Inklingo.

XXX Annika

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!