Merry Christmas 2023

I haven’t been very creative or productive this past year. But, I wanted to keep up with the annual tradition of posting a Christmas quilt on this blog. Only it’s more of a winter quilt than actually Christmassy.

Graphic reindeer quilt in black, white and grey. Original block design, original quilt design by Annika Kornelis.

Like last year’s Christmas quilt, this is an older design that I only updated slightly. This one is from 2014, including the mostly black and grey coloring. And it suits my current general state of mind. More in the mood for calm, classy and a touch of whimsy than full out holiday cheer. I haven’t published this one before, so it is actually new to you!

I felt it was time I put something on the blog for Christmas especially for all those who find this a difficult time of year, especially if they feel forced to participate in all of the omnipresent ‘holiday cheer’.

Back in 2014 I was designing with strips and bars. This reindeer block was inspired by nordic jacquard knitting motifs like Fair Isle sweaters, and cross stitch samplers.

I haven’t tried to work this out, but I guess you could make a (cheerful) scrappy version using Inklingo logs stitched together, provided there is enough contrast between the reindeer parts and the background. I drafted these as 16 inch [40,6 cm.] blocks.

To view some previous designs in this strip style, click here and here and here

Wishing you lots of love, joy, happiness, health and creativity in 2024!

XXX Annika

2 comments on “Merry Christmas 2023

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!