Winter Treats Quilt Design

Winter Treats Quilt – original design by Annika Kornelis

Inklingo’s Linda Franz recently published a shape collection for one of my favorite shapes: A five pointed star. So of course I had to play with this in EQ!

The shape collection makes several 4 inch [10,16 cm.] block variations. It contains several bonus shapes, like the half star point shown above, and a center pentagon with matching triangles to finish the star. As usual, a very clever and complete shape collection! There is even a layout for printing the star shape for back-basting appliqué!

This collection is sweet, so I put two block variations in a very simple design that reminds me of gingerbread cookies, chocolate, marshmallows, whipped cream and peppermint. Winter Treats!

In EQ, 7 x 7 rows of 4 inch blocks are in a straight set with 2 inch [5,08 cm.] sashings. It is only because I used three colors for the sashings (chocolate brown, gingerbread brown and white) that it appears there is an inside border in this design. The actual border settings in EQ are, from the inside: 0.5 inch [1,3 cm.] – 3 inch [7,6 cm.] – 1 inch [2,54 cm.] – 2 inch [5,08 cm.] – 1 inch [2,54 cm.]

This makes the center of the quilt 40 inches [101,6 cm.] square and including borders 55 inches [139,7 cm.]

I drafted the blocks by tracing over an imported picture of one of Linda’s pieced blocks in EQ8. It wasn’t entirely symmetrical on my Block Worktable, and the actual seam lines didn’t fit my snap settings exactly. I had to eyeball and adjust the placement of the parts inside the 4 inch square a bit. The drafted blocks may not be entirely accurate, but I think it’s close enough for design purposes!

I hope to come up with more designs, combining the 5-pointed star with other Inklingo blocks. I had an idea to play with my 2017 Christmas quilt design to replace the small eightpointed stars with the 5-pointed ones, or try some other combinations with Ribbon Flower. But, I have not been able to retrieve the project file! :-(. I hope it is still on my old laptop, perhaps I forgot to transfer it to this computer along with the rest of the files.

If I find it, you will probably get to see the results!

XXX Annika

5 comments on “Winter Treats Quilt Design

  1. Pingback: Merry Christmas 2022 | Stof Genoeg

    • Thank you Laura! I think five pointed stars are my favorite, and I am very inspired by them. They remind me of little people with their arms and legs stretched out in exuberant joy! They way Linda set them in a circle also really adds to the design possibilities I see with them.
      XXX Annika

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!