Anneke in het Rose of Sharon Block Book

 

Block 83 in the Rose of Sharon Block Book is my design

Click here to go straight to the English translation

Afgelopen week ontving ik per post ‘The Rose of Sharon Block Book – winning designs from the EQ6 Challenge’ door Sharon Pederson. Ik heb vorig jaar meegedaan aan die Challenge en 10 blokontwerpen ingestuurd. En een daarvan is opgenomen in het boek! (Block 83). Dat had ik echt nooit verwacht en ik ben dus wel een beetje trots (hihi, bloos). Ik heb alleen meegedaan omdat ik enige tijd geleden heb besloten mee te doen aan alle EQ Challenges, gewoon om mezelf uit te dagen en beter te worden. Dus niet alleen de challenges eruit pikken die me direct aanspreken, maar ook even worstelen met de andere dingen. Dit was zo’n worstelpartij ;-) Ik had nog nooit echt appliqué getekend (ook nog nooit genaaid, trouwens) en de verplichte stoffen spraken me al helemaal niet aan. Maar ik heb wat geproduceerd, en het toen ook maar ingestuurd. Zo zie je maar weer eens hoe een koe een haas vangt.

Maar goed, het is dus puur om te kunnen opscheppen dat ik het boek heb gekocht ;-) Hoewel, nu ik het heb vind ik de quilt van het omslag wel prachtig. Voor degenen van jullie die er wel mee aan de slag willen, of willen zien welke blokken ik nog meer ontworpen heb: Als je EQ6 of EQ7 hebt, kun je gratis alle ingezonden (780+) blokken downloaden! Klik hier http://www.electricquilt.com/Users/Downloads/RoseofSharon.asp

Je kunt natuurlijk ook het mooie boek kopen met 83 blokken, daarmee steun je het onderzoek naar Alzheimer. Het boek is Engelstalig, met duidelijke instructies voor onzichtbaar machinaal appliqué.

En, nu we het toch over appliqué hebben: Er zijn nu ook Inklingo appliqué collecties, vers van de pers. Eén collectie ontworpen door Scarlett Rose, die trouwens ook blokontwerpen in het bovengenoemde boek heeft staan, en eentje van Linda Franz zelf (gratis!). Lees dit bericht op All about Inklingo voor voorbeelden en meer informatie.

XXX Anneke

 
 

ENGLISH

Mijn versie van een Rose of Sharon quilt met blokken ontworpen door Kari Bauer, Candace Door en Barb Vlack - My version of a Rose of Sharon quilt, with blocks designed by Kari Bauer, Candace Door and Barb Vlack

 
 
 

Rose of Sharon Block book by Sharon Pederson

This week I received ‘The Rose of Sharon Block Book – winning designs from the EQ6 Challenge’ by Sharon Pederson in the mail. I entered that Challenge last year with 10 block designs. And one of them is published in the book! (Block 83). I honestly never expected that, and I am kind of proud (hihi, blush). I only entered because some time ago I decided to enter all EQ Challenges, just to, indeed, challenge myself and get better. So not just picking the challenges that call to me immediately, but also wrestling a bit with the other ones. This was one of the wrestling matches ;-) I had never really drawn appliqué (nor sewn it, either) and the prescribed fabrics did not appeal to me at all. But I produced something, and decided I might as well enter it. And this only goes to show ‘how a cow can catch a hare’ as we say in Dutch. ( = You just never know what might happen if you try something. Now, did I just call myself a cow?!).

Anyway, I purely bought the book to have something to brag about ;-) Although, now that I have it, I really do love the cover quilt. For those of you who would actually like to make something from it, or just to see what other blocks I designed: If you have EQ6 or EQ7 you can download all the blocks entered (780+) for free! Click here http://www.electricquilt.com/Users/Downloads/RoseofSharon.asp

Or you could buy the beautiful book with 83 blocks yourself, and support Alzheimer’s research while doing so. It also has clear instructions for invisible machine appliqué.

And, while we are on the subject of appliqué: Now there are also Inklingo appliqué collections available, hot off the press. One collection is designed by Scarlett Rose, who also has block designs in the forementioned book, and one by Linda Franz (free!). Check out this post on All about Inklingo for pictures and more information.

XXX Anneke

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!