Playing with Inklingo shapes

4,25 inch block with Inklingo shapes

Spelen met Inklingo patroondelen: klik hier om direct naar Nederlands te gaan (tekst volgt na de plaatjes)

I have been playing with paper Inklingo shapes, trying to come up with some new combinations of shapes from different collections. I did not succeed in that yet, but I did discover a new (for me, anyway) way of making eightpointed stars, without inset seams. See the block above. It reminds me of a Hunter’s Star block.

You can make this 4,25″ block with shapes from the Inklingo 6 inch LeMoyne Star Collection. It uses:

  •  2,5″ Half Square Triangles (HST) (2)
  • 2,5″ Quarter Square Triangles (QST) (2)
  • 1,75″ 60 degree Diamonds (4)

Below you can see a gallery of different quilt designs I made in EQ7 with just this one block. You can click on any picture for a larger version.

I think it would be very easy to construct the block (and the quilts) by machine. If you would hand piece it, you could easily replace the two 2,5″ QST’s in the middle with the 1.75″ square from the same collection.

Enjoy! I plan to write more later, and explain for absolute beginners how to construct this block by machine.

XXX Anneke

Nederlands

Ik heb gespeeld met Inklingo patroondelen geprint op papier, om te proberen tot nieuwe combinaties te komen met patroondelen uit verschillende collecties. Dat is me nog niet gelukt, maar ik heb wel een nieuwe (voor mij, in elk geval) manier om achtpuntige sterren te naaien ontdekt, zonder Y-naden. Zie het blok hierboven. Het lijkt een beetje op een Hunter’s Star blok.

Je kunt dit 4,25 inch [10,8 cm.] grote blok maken met patroondelen uit de Inklingo 6 inch [15,24 cm.] LeMoyne Star collectie. Het bestaat uit:

  • 2,5 inch Halfvierkant driehoeken (HST) (2)
  • 2,5 inch Kwartvierkant driehoeken (QST) (2)
  • 1,75 inch 60 graden ruiten (4)

Hierboven zie je een fotogalerij met quiltontwerpen die ik heb gemaakt in EQ7 op basis van alleen dit ene blok. Je kunt op elk plaatje klikken voor een vergroting.

Ik denk dat dit blok (en een quilt ervan) erg makkelijk te maken is met de naaimachine. Als je het met de hand zou naaien, zou je de twee 2,5 inch QST’s in het midden eenvoudig kunnen vervangen door het 1,75 inch vierkant uit dezelfde collectie.

Veel plezier ermee! Ik ben van plan hier later nog eens over te schrijven, met uitleg voor absolute beginners over het naaien van dit blok op de machine.

XXX Anneke

2 comments on “Playing with Inklingo shapes

  1. I very much enjoy reading your blog. You are very inventive! I have a soft spot in my heart for the Netherlands, as I lived in Maastricht for two 5 month periods.
    Would you know if there is a combination of Inklingo shapes that I could use to make the little spool blocks (klojses?) that I see on several blogs? I’d love to make then using Inklingo.
    See you on the Inklingo Yahoo group,
    Kathie L in Allentown (USA)

I love to hear what you think! Leave a response - Laat wat van je horen!